Generalized Anxiety Disorder =Constant Worrying!

in #advice6 years ago

Anxiety has the ability to pretty much screw with every aspect of your life; it ruins relationships by letting you either blow people off and cancel social appointments or by letting you seem completely bitchy or rude because of the irritability that accompanies anxiety, by letting you look like a complete weirdo when you freak out in front of an entire mall of people and by interfering with your worklife by getting you too anxious to go to interviews. Anxiety is a real bummer sometimes....most times really..let me talk about one of the worst things that comes with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD) .....constant worrying.

People with GAD tend to be worriers .....nope not warriors....WORRIERS!! Like worrying about absolutely anything, from mismatch socks and what other people will think of them, to death and future plans that might go really south.

I personally worry about anything even things that might never happen like conversations I "might have" with people.

It really causes you to constantly be in an unhealthy state of stress and causes you to even feel physically ill. I have a heart condition that is constantly aggravated by the amount of stress that my worrying puts me under and the truth is it is extremely difficult to try and stop the worrying....believe me I try very hard to stop it on a daily basis.

Things I have found helpful is meditation and writing to help with stress levels. Twice a day for roughly 10-15 minutes.

You can create a space for yourself to meditate that can include anything that soothes you; like candles, a essential oil diffuser, pillows ,tea and even music...the more "you" the space becomes the more at peace you'll become. It is YOUR space to unwind and destress so make the most of it.

Meditation is really worth the effort because it helps you to learn how to control worrying thoughts through acknowledgement and acceptance.

For all you worriers out there, know that you aren't alone in your struggles and that life will always surprise you!

Thanks for reading, ciao! :)

Sort:  

I would definitely agree with this, it makes every waking moment so hard because you double think everything and it spoils so many moments that would be great if that little fearful voice would just stop, have you found things that get rid of it? Apart from the meditation?

Nice Post :-)
Upvoted and Followed :-)

Well I have also found that positive selftalk also helps a great deal! And one thing I always repeat to myself is "I will not let little anxious behavior overpower me" If I start to pick at my nails or skin or start picking up on behavioral traits like lip biting..I quietly tell myself to stop letting myself behave anxiously because the more you indulge in those little behaviors the easier it is to start falling into an anxious pattern of behaviour...your brain will start to follow suit once you start telling yourself that "acting anxious means becoming more anxious" if you know what I mean.

Hope this helps x

Hi @iamluna, I just discovered your post today through @xhodan's feed and thought that you should get more attention for writing about mental health related issues. Also, there are lots of groups here on steemit that support women and also encourages newbies here ( #newbiesteemitday being one of them) so I would love your posts improve and get a bigger audience :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54