House of Hayden: Your Menswear Style Guide Series: #1 The Tees-er

in #advice8 years ago (edited)

alt text

#1 The Tees-er

To begin, let's talk about fashion in general. Most men are afraid of clothes, shopping, and accessories. For others, you may just think that it's all over-priced bologna and there is no reason to look good. You, my friends, are wrong. No matter what you do in life, your look will always define you (unless you live under a rock, then nevermind.)

My theory for you gents is that you may not be informed of what may be the best options for you, and I can see why. From one store to the next in a shopping mall, it can be a whirlwind of options for everyone, every shape, and size with various styles, cuts, colors, and trends. And we haven't even touched on accessories yet.

This is why I am here, to guide YOU into looking great. I've taken it upon myself to help you gents find your way into a personal style. One that's inexpensive, classic, and will stick through the ages.

alt text

Style can be the ultimate confidence booster. In this series I'm going to be covering the basics you should know about men's fashion and personal style. Also where to find great prices and some of my personal favorite brands.

Basics are the clothes you'll wear everyday. Picking the right basics will make you look great for any occasion, from your socks to your t-shirt.

The following is the basics on basics, without being basic. There are 3 basics to cover; t-shirts, jeans, and shoes. In this post, I'm going to cover t-shirts, because jeans and shoes are just whole other worlds. Some wise words before we begin our journey.

alt text

Quality is Key:

As a general rule of thumb, if you buy quality clothing now, you'll spend less in the long run. Now, I know you think “well if I want quality, that means expensive.” Not true. There are so many brands nowadays trying to get you great quality products, for a great price.

One of my personal favorites is Everlane.com., they offer designer quality products (almost all basics) for a great price. They are strictly online, but the quality is equivalent to Barneys New York.

I personally have 3 v-neck basic tee's from Everlane (gray, black, and white.) They are my go-to for a day off when I'm just running to the grocery store or to grab a cup of coffee. I've had them for 2 years now, they still fit great and they were $15 each.

The Right Fit Will Make It Or Break It: The Tailor

When it comes to fit, it's very important to stay away from items that are too big, and too small. Items that are too big leave you looking like you're wearing dad's old clothing. Too small, well let's be honest, it reveals a little too much love.

The best way to get everything to fit great is to take your measurements. All you need is a measuring tape and the “google machine” as you older gents call it. (To find what and where to measure.) This will assist you in shopping for ANYTHING, I repeat A-N-Y-T-H-I-N-G. Specifically, ordering online.

If you know your measurements, you can feel more confident in ordering the right size. For those gents that don't know, all clothing companies will have a size/fit chart link.

Also, after you buy something, you can also bring it to a tailor. A professionally tailored item of clothing will always look great. Why? Because it was put back together with you in mind. With a specific fit that's just for you, there is no way you can go wrong.

alt text

T-Shirts:
You have a t-shirt, or 20, and you wear them all the time. To the gym, grocery store, even to your mother's house. Some offensive, some ugly, some holey (which can be good, but that's a later subject) and some from before I was born.

Point is, everyone has t-shirts, but why do some look better than others? Why can some people look great in just a t-shirt and jeans? Well, it's because they:

A) Followed the rules above

B) Found ones that have style

Now style comes from fit and cut. When buying a t-shirt there are many things to take into account.

The Neck Line:
Now the neckline is self-explanatory (It's the cut of the whole where you put your head.) There are two main cuts for men, a crew neck, and a v-neck. The crewneck is cut closer to the neck, and a v-neck is cut how it's described, in a V shape.

How to wear: Crewnecks are GREAT for under a sweater, or just a nice graphic tee. Just be sure to check that it's not too tight or too loose around the neck. V-necks tend to be sleeker on their own, the right v-neck will pair with anything you wear. Great for layering with button ups, jackets, and cardigans(kinda like your grandfather's button-up sweaters, but with more style).

The Shoulder:
The sleeves should reach to about mid-bicep, and be snug on the arm. Too tight and you look like you want to be on Jersey Shore with the guidos. Too loose and the sleeves will begin to flair, thus ruining your look. No one's t-shirt should have wings. Well in my opinion.

The Torso:
So this is where length and width will come in. The t-shirt should come down to about mid crotch. Just a couple inches below your belt. When you raise your arms, your shirt should only show your stomach about an inch, at most.

You can obviously go higher or lower to achieve a specific look, but my assumption is you're just not there yet. (I mean, you are reading this guide right?)

As for width, a great rule of thumb is you should only be able to pinch about 1-2 inches of fabric on either side of your torso. And trust me, no matter what your size is, this rule will work every single time!

Tips for Tees: Every brand has a different size model, so that means a slightly different fit. Not every shirt is made the same, it's important to find a store that makes a t-shirt that fits YOU great.

Some of my favorite places to buy good quality and inexpensive basic t-shirts are hm.com, uniqlo.com, and everlane.com. H&M being the least in the quality criteria, they tend to have a great slim fit and it's a great solution if you're in a pinch money wise. Uniqlo is a shop that puts emphasis on seasonal fabrics, so say it's summertime, they will sell moisture wicking fabrics for the season. They have great quality for an EXCELLENT price. And last but not least, Everlane. Like I said earlier, they have excellent quality and an excellent price. I have bought many different items from them such as bags, shirts, hats, and wallets. I have never been let down by their quality or customer service.

If you are looking for more than just a guide, I also offer personal style consultation! I can create a personal guide, based on your needs and body type, to find your perfect style! I will create virtual outfits for you, give you tips and hacks to stay on top of your style, forever! Email me at:

[email protected]

Thank you for reading! Please stay tuned for our next installment! Follow me on Instagram and check out the fashion of South East Asia!

Next Installment : "House of Hayden: Your Menswear Style Guide Series: #2 Jeans are Jesus."

Sort:  

This article was fantastic. I really loved that line, "The following is the basics on basics, without being basic." It was hilarious, had my buddies at work laughing.

Great article, now I know the basics.

Beautifully written. Helped me understand male fashion better. Now I will be able to help out my boyfriend. #basic#fashion#advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30