A DAY IN MY LIFE: THE POWER OF ASKING QUESTIONS.

in #advice6 years ago

FB_IMG_1520802932594.jpg[source:google]
Some individuals have cultivated the habit of not asking questions on what they are confused about because of many reasons ranging from Pride, [this group of people finds it difficult pocketing their ergo to ask question on what they are confused about], security[in my country many don't ask question especially when they are confused about a particular location they seek to locate because they are being security cautious, because asking questions creates the impression that you are new to the area and makes you a target of abduction if you are asking for direction from the wrong hands], other reasons for people not asking questions exist but in as much i don't want to go into details the reasons, i want to make it clear here that not asking question is a FLAW, we should let go of in our lives as it saved my ass today.IMG_20180115_113956_562.jpg

MY STORY!!!
The previous weekend was something else for me as i made unplanned expenses on 8.03.2018, which made me run out of cash,i was too occupied on friday that i was not able to withdraw some bucks, the issue tightened on saturday when the Automated teller machine[ATM] seized my card and as it was not a working day, i had to wait till monday so i can use a withdrawal slip to make withdrawal and in turn rectify the card issue. Fast forward to monday.

I had to hurry to my neighbour's room to borrow #500, and i dashed off to bank which will cost me 250 naira transport, so on reaching the destination, i decided to eat from a petty food dealer as i was very famished because i didn't eat the previous night "just being sincere here". I entered the food shop, fetched myself a plastic sit just beside the door as there was no fan, so i had to go for the natural air. Just then the woman came and i told her i wanted Rice and beans with stew and before i could start waiting, my food was just before me waiting for me to bounce on it. Guess what? Irrespective of how hungry i am so far as am eating out, i must take good survey on the meal before eating. So as i was taking my survey, i noticed there was four pieces of meat in the stew, so i hurriedly called for the sellers attention inquiring the cost of her meal and she said #800, it was as if my hearing capacity shut down that i had to ask for her to repeat herself and she mentioned the same price, i did not know when i shouted; OH MY GOD!!!
I had to apply a gentle approach because i know i made a mistake not asking the price of the meal before demanding for a plate but on the other hand, a food handler in such environment as hers sells a plate of food for #250 which was the exact amount i had with me. After a long discussion with the seller explaining that am new to the environment for my National Youth Service Programme, she saw reasons with me and made some adjustments on the meal.

I was pondering over the scenerio as i was walking into the bank to make withdrawal, as i was asking myself how the incident would have looked like assuming i didn't ask a question, the level humiliation i could not possibly predict. All thanks to God and myself for asking question.

TO ALL STEEMIANS, LET CULTIVATE THE HABIT OF ASKING QUESTIONS BECAUSE IT GOES A LONG WAY GETTING US OUT OF TROUBLE.

THANKS FOR READING, PLEASE COMMENT,UPVOTE, AND FOLLOW IF YOU LIKE MY CONTENT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41