The Biggest Obstacles

in #advice7 years ago

Since moving to Japan and getting my Japanese driver's license, people ask me all the time what it's like to drive on the wrong side of the road. They always want to know if it's scary and how long it takes to get used to.

Contrary to many people's expectations, the truth is that it's not scary, and it doesn't take much time to adjust to at all. In fact, it's surprisingly normal. When other cars are on the road, you either follow them or you base your lane position on them and, quite naturally, you know what to do.

You are just driving a car after all, which is something you already know how to do.

Occasionally, yes, when there aren't any cars on the road to guide you through your turns, you will​ encounter moments of confusion or hesitation. Understanding new traffic laws, signs, and etiquette will take some time to adjust to as well. But driving on the wrong side of the road, that part is easy.


FullSizeRender-21.jpg


There is one thing, however, that is very difficult to adjust to and can take months to overcome. It is something that can be quite alarming and could easily get you into an accident.

Can you guess what it is? Before reading any further, stop and think about it. What's your guess?










The hardest thing about driving on the wrong side of the road is using your turn signals.

That's right, your turn signals. And your windshield wipers too.


You see, the turn signals are always located on the outside of the steering wheel, near the driver's side door, and the handle that operates the windshield wipers is always located on the inside of the steering wheel. If you are accustomed to driving a car that has a steering wheel on its left side, without thinking, you will automatically reach out with your left hand when you want to activate your turn signal. Doing so, however, will cause you to turn on the car's windshield wipers instead of the turn signal when driving a car with a steering wheel on its right side.

That might not sound dangerous, but believe me, it can be. When you are focused on other things like oncoming traffic, watching out for pedestrians, navigating a turn, etc and your windshield wipers suddenly pop up and screech across a dry windshield,

  1. It can startle you, and

  2. It can send you into a panic because figuring out how to quickly turn off your windshield wipers and hurriedly turn your blinker on isn't as easy as it sounds. Overcoming muscle memory and the training of your brain takes time.

Like most things in life, the biggest and most obvious changes are the easiest to get used to. It's the little changes, the changes to things we don't realize are there and don't notice ourselves doing that take the most time to adjust to.

It's not the changes to what we perceive as normal that are difficult to overcome, it's the changes to what we don't even realize our normal IS that pose the biggest obstacles for us.



Image Credit: The image used in this post is original.

Sort:  

And having to change gears with the other arm?
Or do you drive automatic?

I drive automatic, but I have driven manual here as well and was surprised that it wasn't strange. Maybe it's because I've been driving here for a number of years already and I've adjusted. Had the clutch been on the right side of the car, that would have been strange.

When I came back from a trip in S.A. (left side driving) shortly after that at night I wanted to drive home.I got stopped by a cop. I have to mention I am a cop, too. So I briefly knew him. He was asking me if I was drinking. Me, no. I asked him why he thought so. He told me that I was driving on the wrong side. 😮 I was quite embarrassed. I told him that I was just few days ago abroad. He gave me a look like, whatever, you and your story, but didn't offer a breathalyzer test. I got mad about his reaction, but couldn't react no more since right after that he said bye and left.😠
Today I laugh about this incident 😂. So not driving at the new location is hard, it's when you come home and you don't pay attention you are all of sudden on the wrong side 😉😂

Wow. That's scary. I'm glad the officer let you go home without pursuing things further and that you didn't get hurt. Like I said, as long as other cars are on the road, driving in the opposite lane is easy. Occasionally, though, as happened to you, when there aren't any other cars around, yes, you may find yourself driving in the wrong lane. You definitely do have to be careful of that.

This is so funny and relatable. When I was in London last spring it was difficult to cross the streets lol

I had forgotten about that. Crossing the streets as a pedestrian is really dangerous, isn't it? You always look away from oncoming traffic when you go to step into the street.

Yeah exactly and so many time I would put my foot on the street then look the right direction to see a car coming my way

When I first came to Japan, that happened all the time. It's scary, isn't it? That would make a good post and warning to travelers.

Do you find any difference in driving in Japan and America?

Yeah. There are a lot of differences. Probably the biggest is that roads here tend to be very narrow and often requiring looking into mirrors that are mounted on walls and telephone poles to see around corners. In addition, there are a lot more pedestrians and people on bikes over here so you really have to look all around you before turning. Also, you can't turn on red lights here and the turning order at four-way stops is different.

In America, you take turns based on the order in which you came to a stop at the intersection. In Japan, the turning order is based on who has the near side turn, which means you can sometimes find yourself waiting for a long time.

Plus, speed limits are slower, and police stops/patrols seem to be much fewer.

Another funny difference is that police cars, when they are on patrol, flash their sirens to let you know they are patrolling. There are more differences, I'm sure, but these immediately popped into mind.

Amazing. Thanks for telling us this. I was going to ask about the speedlimits and the police, but see hear you already got to that.

The speed limits are generally 40 km/h through towns, I think. Now that I've written that, I suddenly can't remember what they are. On expressway-like roads, they are often only around 60 km/h (I think). Honestly, though, I don't think many people pay attention to them.

And police here are not intimidating at all.

ah! okay. Thanks for the Comment.

Any time. Also, the stop signs are triangular.

Truth. Had that experience. When it started to rain I started blinking 😁

It freaks you out a little, doesn't it?

A little panic on the road 😅

I really like your perspective of life, @boxcarblue! Great post as always :)

Thank you for your encouragement. I'm glad to hear it!

I already get my windshield wipers and turn signals mixed up already. Maybe if I move to Japan that would get all sorted out.

Maybe. Once the little one grows up a little more, maybe you can finally give it a chance. Maybe I'll be able to give you solid housing advice by then: )

Sounds like a plan : )

I'll keep an eye out for your future bungalow then.

Remembering which side to drive on is as easy as remembering that when you drive you "put your life on the line." That is, the side of the car your body is on is the side that goes next to the centerline of the road.

There is that reminder too. I have found that as long as there are other cars on the road to guide you, you pretty much never have a problem. Occasionally, though, even with your advice kept in mind, when there aren't other cars on the road, you may find yourself relapsing for a moment and driving in the wrong lane.

You nail it. I have similar conclusion too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67