Challenge advices given to you

in #advice6 years ago

Have you ever heard people tell you to not do a certain something for whatever reason, but you tried it any way and it worked for you?

I met with an old friend a couple days ago (whom I met in an online game a few years back), had a great time, a great catch up session. And it got me thinking bout my life and how a lot of the valuable friends I had at some points were my online/game friends.

Back when I was younger (around 11 years old?) it was heavily frowned upon to get to know online friends and meet them in real-life cause they might be "bad people". I still met tonnes of these people despite this advice, but of course I exercised some caution (eg. meeting them in public malls and libraries, not going to secluded places).

And I would say some of these people are way better friends than most of those I've met in person.

Should I have just listened and not explored on my own, I might have just believed that "online people are bad people" and not just normal people using the internet.

Challenging Norms


Going "against" the advice really helped challenge my thinking (and advice given to me) when I was still in Primary School. And now that I'm older, I'm constantly challenging all kinds of thoughts. Things should be done with a reason and not "just because". Sometimes doing what other people are not doing might even yield better results.

Don't be afraid to find things out for yourself, just remember to weigh the possible good with bad.

Sort:  

Yes!! I can relate to this post so much. It's very true.
Good for you to discover this and to keep pushing those boundaries :)
I also like how you describe to not ignore all the warnings, but to actually keep thinking and using your heart/gutfeeling at the same time.
It sounds as a great strategy for new adventures and allowing yourself some space to keep discovering yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14