Adventure #4 – Paddle Boarding

in #adventures7 years ago

After last week’s exhilarating adventure and a very busy week at work, I needed an adventure that was relaxing and low-key. After some digging around for cool and chilled-out things to do, I chose stand-up paddle boarding as my adventure for the week. That way I could mix my love of the water with some relaxing….and disconnecting for an hour ;-)

I drove out early in the morning to Matheson Hammock Park in Coconut Grove, where I met the Paula from Adventure Sports Miami who gave me a great lesson and geared me up for the adventure. (If you live in Miami or are planning to visit and are looking for some adventure, I highly recommend you visit their shop in Coconut Grove or their outpost at the park. They are awesome folks!) Within minutes of arriving, I had my feet in the water and the lesson was underway. Soon after I was standing on the board and starting to paddle away!

The hour that I spent out in the bay was amazing! The scenery and wildlife were awesome. I saw manatees, turtles and all kinds of birds and fish. The weather cooperated and made me think how nice it is that I can be out at the beach in the middle of January, while other places are buried in snow. Paddle boarding was a great core workout, it was relaxing and it was very peaceful. It was also a lot easier than I thought. I am happy to report that I didn’t fall into the water even once!

After paddling in to shore, I met Louie, a 73 year old man who was there to go kiteboarding. I learned that the Wall Street Journal featured him in a story not long ago for his love for the sport and for what a great change it has brought about in his life. What an inspiration! He suggested that I try kiteboarding as one of my adventures. What’s interesting is that he was the 7th person that day that had told me the same thing! So kiteboarding is now on the list…..

The adventure was great and just what I needed to reset and get ready for an exciting week ahead. So for anyone looking to be outside, get a workout and chill out at the same time, I recommend you give paddle boarding a try.

As always my friends, keep dreaming, keep reaching for the stars and do what you love. DO IT TODAY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66