Introduction: Hello I'm Chris Dao!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #adventureready5 years ago

Hey fitness people! I just wanted to make this post to track my progress and to shout out to my friends @wil.metcalfe and Ivan, who've made a significant impact on my fitness journey :)

I started my fitness journey weighing in at 172 the beginning of June 2019. image0.jpg

With some of the tips and tricks I learned during an event hosted by @adventureready and @wil.metcalfe, I started to dabble my feet into a light (and I mean VERY LIGHT) cardio routine. I started a walking regime for about 2.5km-5km a day while carrying a ~30pound back pack, and I did this for about 2 weeks along side a slightly monitored diet and I lost about 8 pounds.
image0-1.jpg

After building some self confidence I started to hit the gym 5 days a week (M-F for about 1.5-2 hours a day), and my work out routine consisted of legs, chest, back, shoulders and arms respectively. All my of workouts consisted of 4 or 5 exercises with 4 sets and 12-15 repetitions each. I did this work out along side an additional 4 sets of pull ups each day (more explained below) and a diet plan called OMAD (where I'd only eat once per day, usually between 5-6pm, which means I worked out in a fasted state).

These pictures were taken in chronological order and were roughly 1 week apart and roughly between June-July
image0-2.jpg
image0-3.jpg
image0-5.jpg
image0-4.jpg

This picture was taken in a fasted state and right before my unofficial 9.7K run :)

image0-6.jpg

During my time working out I saw a lot of progress, I nearly broke a record/goal each day. Weather it'd be a new maximum for seated rows or perfecting my technique for squats. I really wish that I took a video, I remember myself laying underneath an Olympic barbell with 15 pounds on each side, preparing myself to bench this monstrous weight 12x. Sadly, I failed... I swallowed my pride and dropped the weight back down to 10 pounds, I totally struggled. I MAYBE managed to bench this 10 maybe 11 times. Thinking back to this memory brings me so much joy because it is an awesome reminder to see how far I've come. If we fast forward to the present day, I'm currently working on 35 pounds on each side, my current record is 9 reps with clean technique.

I still remember my first day stepping into the gym and my buddy asks "can you do a pull up?", and I'm like YEAH I CAN! So I hesitate for a second, standing under the chin up bar I go for a jump to grab onto it and nearly pull the muscles in my armpits, I hang there like a noodle trying my best to pull myself up and try to use my legs but I'm just not moving... I drop down and my buddy yells "HAHAH SAUSAGE" - which from this point on would be small inside joke. We move over to the assisted pull up station where I set the weight at (+85 and STRUGGLE to even hit 12 reps) lol and form this point on we made the decision to workout my back every day. We started small, I eventually lowered the assist to around 60 then to 40/25. I progressed slowly, I first started to do a 1 pull up "cheat" using the momentum from jumping and slowly progressed to 1 CLEAN pull up and then to 1 clean + 1 leg assisted sausage pull up. Over the course of the summer months, June - August, I went from 0 pull ups in general to 8 pull ups (bicep focused) and 5 (lat focused).

These pictures were taken around Aug 15
image0-8.jpg
and theres Ivan with the photocred
image0-7.jpg

This picture was taken on Sept 6 2019.
image0-9.jpg

Thanks for reading my post! Leme know if you have any questions :)

Sort:  

Fantastic results in such a short time Chris! I’m glad that I was able to assist your results and I’m looking forward to following along as you continue to craft your fitness story!

I’ll see you at the next popup @AdventureReady event! I’ll be sending out invites for that on Friday so watch for that!

As well! Thank you for the mention AND welcome to Steem my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the encouragement Wil! I cant wait to hear back, I’m so stoked for the next event with @AdventureReady! — sorry for the late reply!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice post. Welcome to steemit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the Steem blockchain Chris. I must admit you got some fantastic results from your exercise and eating regime. I would like to encourage you to keep going and keep getting fitter. Once again welcome and I wish you lots of success on this amazing platform.
Remember to check out the fitness app Actifit if you enjoy walking.👍😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there! Thank you for the kind words
and sorry for the late reply, I ran out of steempower :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Woo what good results. You are a sign that with effort and dedication you can get what you want. I will try to take your example and leave the lazy 😅 jejejeje.
Welcome to Steemit!

Comment translated into English with Traductor de DeepL

Welcome chris.dao!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to steemit @chris.dao.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @chris.dao! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85