Adventure Reading- Books and Burning Man

in #adventurereading6 years ago (edited)

I'm pretty well known for taking a book everywhere I go. My number one requirement for a purse is that it is large enough to carry a hardback book- you never know when I'm going to pull one out (that's what she said). I have been known to read in the middle of a party, in the line at the grocery store... Just about everywhere.

Sometimes, this does not always have a happy ending for the book. When I went on my honeymoon to Burning Man in 2007, I took a copy of The Davinci Code by Dan Brown. I don't have any pictures of me reading the book, but here is what happened to it.

So Burning Man is a festival in the middle of the Black Rock Desert. They give out multiple pamphlets that tell Burners not to go off-roading on the way to Black Rock. 1) People are traveling through Indian reservations, and they do not like people trespassing 2) there is no cell phone service 3) the sand will eat things. But I was young and stupid, and there was a beautiful lake, so I ignored all of this advice and did it anyway. The road that we were traveling abruptly dropped into what was essentially quicksand, and our little Yaris rental car was trapped in sand half way up the wheel.

We spent hours trying to get the car out. We were out of view of the highway, there was no cell service, and we had no emergency gear. My husband thought that sticking the book under the wheel might help get the car out of the sand.... So I sacrificed The Davinci Code in the name of getting out of Satan's Wasteland. It did not fair well for the book.

You can see the large piece of wood we hauled from the lake to put under the tires that actually ended up getting us out. Also there are little bitty nettles in the sand, so it was NOT a good idea to go barefoot. Definitely one of the most inhospitable places we've been to.

Eventually we got to Burning Man- and suddenly it was all worth it.



Photos and words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

I've always known that words and books take us places, but this example is quite off the beaten path from most of the antecedents I've heard. <3

lol it was quite the adventure for that book, for sure!

Lol I'm notorious for ruining books. And guitars. The objects I love most. I guess because I love to use them, so they have eventful lives... but not always long ones :D

I really enjoyed this story, and the amazing pictures. So far I haven't made it to Burning Man, but it always looks amazing.

Yes, my books always end up a little abused. Now I read most of my books on my phone, so I don't own as many physical copies.

Burning Man is a stellar experience and I recommend it highly!

That is an awesome story. And wow, you went to Burning Man for your honeymoon! That makes it an even better story. Did you ever finish the book?

I did finish the book- on the plane ride there! So while I was sad it was destroyed, I had already finished it.

Awesome story, always happy to meet other Burners on here. Have you been back since?

I haven't been back, but I want to someday! Maybe with more creature comforts- roughing it in a tent during a sandstorm was..... tough.

Thats such a cool way to spend a honeymoon! The books will be there for you, they are replaceable though. Moments like that only happen once in a lovetime. You both look very happy and thats what is important. Much love and congratulations!

What a travel, but it was worth it

nice pictures and nice adventure too!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62