Monterey, CA: 11 Days in Monterey

in #adventure7 years ago

I spent the first 11 days hanging around my friend Jon's house in Pacific Grove, near Monterey.

A few bits and pieces had survived from my previous tours but most of the gear and clothing I was going to source new in the States. Within an hour of leaving the airport we'd sorted the bike out, picking up a 54' Long Haul Trucker from the Family Bike Center in Santa Cruz.

The next week or so was spent between Monterey's local bike shops and the REI 10 miles to the north in Marina where I cobbled together the gear I needed, supplemented by a few things from Amazon and panniers from cyclocamping.com.

I must have saved a small fortune shopping here rather than in Australia and the UK.

Meanwhile, I was enjoying catching up with my mate Jon and the countless meals prepared by his partner, Janet. Seriously guys - much appreciated, especially Janet, considering my stay coincided with a five day visit from the in-laws from the UK.

Anyway, Monday afternoon saw the delivery of the final items from UPS and so it was all systems go for Tuesday.
Bustrum.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @wychan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50