on the way...of St. James (1st stage)

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

So, today it is going to start - my journey on the Camino from Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port to Santiago de Compostela - 800 km on foot. This pilgrimage, I will take you with me, will take 5 weeks and is also known as the Route of St. James. I’m going to spend plenty of time alone with my thoughts, while putting one foot before the other. You can join me on this adventure, stage by stage, in the next weeks.

DSCI0001.JPG

Arrived at the train station of Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port at the foot of the Pyrenees, the first stage starts with crossing the Ibañeta-Pass at around 1000 meters of altitude.

DSCI0006.JPG

DSCI0013.JPG

After this rather cold, breezy and foggy experience, the weather soon starts getting better and so it becomes clear, that this first stage was one of the most exhausting ones but every now and then, there is this obvious question arising: What exactly am I doing here?!?

DSCI0046.JPG

At the latest in front of this road sign it becomes definite - I’m on the Camino and now, I only need to find out, what I am looking for, except…bridges…

DSCI0062.JPG

…narrow streets...

DSCI0066.JPG

…vast landscapes...

…more narrow streets...

DSCI0097.JPG

…more landscapes...

DSCI0114.JPG

Obviously, I am not going to be alone in the weeks to come and so, there will be many opportunities to answer this question with like-minded people.

DSCI0083.JPG

For the start, one goal I seek is clear. I’m looking for tranquility, I’m looking for decrease in speed - I need time for me and my thoughts. I’m looking for myself.

DSCI0076.JPG

In this spirit - Ultreja!

Sort:  

Thank you for the english version. This is amazing! I like the stacked rocks on the side of the pathway. Keep going on the Camino and look forward for the inspiring stories!

Tanks a lot...you are very welcome!

Liebe Grüße!!!
🙂

Dankeschön!...auch nach Oldenburg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67024.68
ETH 3312.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74