Pedal panic..my first driving experience

in #adventure6 years ago

Often times I have learnt about this phrase "pedal panic" and I ve always prayed never to find myself in such situation even though I ve thought that having heard and read about it, it will least occur to me when the time comes.
Today have been a very good day with much expectations despite its was gonna be a shorter working day. School activities went as usual and I was eager to leave for home...yes leave for home because it was Friday.
Getting downstairs I met my friend and a colleague who requested that I accompany him to drop off something at a nearby groceries shop. I never declined, I jumped into the car and off we drove.
The genesis of our problem started when Kasa asked me at the exit of our estate:
"can u drive? "
My answer was simply "No I ve not tried that before! "
Okay" he said but u can try it today....its takes a day to start and try a new thing,, it's not hard with automatic cars so long as u have the courage ...
Seeing the seriousness on his face and his willingness to couch me, I quickly alighted from the passenger's seat and mounted the steering immediately....but he warned me sternly....
Beware of "PEDAL PANIC"! I gave him this confidence that I was in full control of my mind...and in no time I ve zoomed off.
Wao how sweet it was to drive a car....simpler than riding a motorcycle of which I was already an expert in.....
I ve not gone more than a kilometer that I was confronted with this sharp narrow bend barely able to accommodate two cars at a time coupled with a pregnant lady and her little kid standing by the edge of the road beside their car, there was also this tricycle coming the opposite way with a moderate speed...... At this point I lost my coordination, instead of stepping on the brake pedal to slow and halt the car that the tricycle may drive pass, I subconsciously and consistently matched the throttle
(what could be happening to my brain?) ..... And before one could say Jack we ve dug a tunnel through a house fence into someone's home!
What a black Friday for us!

![IMG_20180309_152801.jpg]
()

Alas could this be a dream? Indeed no..

IMG_20180309_143320.jpg
It's reality because I never woke up from any sleep..
Indeed I just suffered from pedal fright
In all we sincerely appreciate God for saving us from a major damage and loss of life... Indeed He saved us and to him alone be all the glory! IMG_20180309_145349.jpg
Please beware of pedal fright in the face of emergency!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61