Your Guide to Simple Bouldering

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever rock climbed outdoors?

If you haven’t, you’re missing out. It is the ultimate way to get in touch with your body and nature. @ninjalord showed that with his death-defying climb over the ocean with no ropes!

2017-12-10 09.27.39 2.jpg

You first need to pick a place to climb. I recommend Happy Boulders in Bishop, CA. It’s a hidden gem that includes beginner through advanced routes on soft rock. Trust me, when you climb all day, the last thing you want is torn up hands due to granite.

You’re going to need some gear. If you’ve been climbing indoors, you have the essentials: rock climbing shoes, some experience, and comfortable clothes. You also need a crash pad so you don’t break yourself when you fall and some beers/water/food to stay in the zone.

After you park your car, walk toward the boulders. Say hi to all the nice (and maybe stinky) climbers on the trail.

20171210_143312.jpg

It’s important that you warm up. Do some stretches, especially for your forearms, hands, and knees. You’re going to be climbing for hours, so it’s important to do the prehab body maintenance first.

2017-12-10 09.01.42 1.jpg

It’s helpful if you have an experienced friend join you on the trip. They will make sure you don’t start on a route too difficult, which could get yourself hurt or discouraged. Use your chalk bag to get your hands nice and dry and start tackling some V0 warmups.

2017-12-10 09.33.46 2.jpg

Rock climbing is about being in the zone. Focus on your task at hand and ascend up the boulder. Some people use ropes, but if you pick a bouldering location, the rocks aren’t high enough to need them.

2017-12-10 09.57.22 1.jpg

Unless you go to the Buttermilks which can make you wish you had ropes.

20171210_164807.jpg

When you get to the top make sure you take a look around. Congrats on overcoming your fear of heights and sending up a difficult challenge, but the real reward is being in nature.

2017-12-10 09.44.02 1.jpg

Howl to the stars and be at peace.


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ucsdsu to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Yes! (But with lots of safety equipment since I'm terrified of heights!) It really looks challenging but worth the try. The closest thing I've tried is indoor and outdoor wall climbing but all were artificial. I wish I could do this soon. Thanks foe inspiration :)

That's awesome that you climb! There are many routes that aren't high, which will make you more comfortable. Share with us your outdoor nature climbing experience when you do! :)

Hell yeah, climbing/bouldering outdoors is my passion! Check out my personal blog @HaTo! :-) And it goes even further, I dedicate myself to the topic with the @Climbing-Trail.

Great introduction and motivation to bouldering outdoors! How often are you able to get out?


Upvoted and resteemed by the @Climbing-Trail!

The @Climbing-Trail is an account dedicated to giving climbing and hiking a platform here on Steemit. It is manually curated by @HaTo.

You can upvote this comment if you like to support the @Climbing-Trail and follow if you want to discover quality content like this on a regular basis!

Your personal blog is legit! Thanks for sharing. Love the devotion to climbing! I used to do a lot of indoor bouldering in San Francisco at Dogpatch Boulders. Ever since I started training Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, my climbing has been less. My cousins like to climb so I'm trying to do more nature climbs this year! How often do you get out?

Multiple hobbies are always enriching, but there is only so much time you have...

At the moment I'm going to the gym 2-3 times a week to get stronger. I have some local projects that I want to do. I try to get out to our local crag 2-3 times a month, but I wish to get out more often. And we'll the are some big plans to get out next summer. Let's see! :-)

Yeah, Bishop...
such a famous and nice bouldering /climbingarea :)
One day I will have to come!
Great pictures by the way!

Thanks! Have you been there before? Next time I visit we should send a few routes!

Sadly not yet, but I've seen a ton of rad videos and pictures (including yours^^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77