How We Hitched Across Canada / Day One

in #adventure4 years ago (edited)

Travel Day One - Saturday, June 29 - Nelson, British Columbia

It’s Saturday of the Canada Day long weekend when we decide to embark on our journey. We’ve got our backcountry hiking bags stuffed to the brim with camping equipment, cycling gear and all the clothes we’ll need to get us through an East Coast summer and into the changing leaves of fall.

Somewhere amongst it all is our travel fare, a giant Ziploc bag full of pungent West Coast weed, because ass is not an option and cash is on reserve. We finish off a double Americano and a breakfast sandwich at a favourite neighbourhood haunt and head for the highway hitching spot.

As we stand on the shoulder of the road, holding our handmade cardboard sign with the words “EASTCOAST” printed in bold block letters on the front, a group of nearby mountain bikers laughs in our direction.

“That’s ambitious,” one guy shouts, not entirely off the mark. We are, after all, standing on the outskirts of Nelson, B.C a mere 5,000 kilometres for our aspired destination. “Good luck,” yells another, as a second vehicle whizzes by with no signs of stopping.

20190629_101327_HDR.jpg

I’m trying my best not to take the passing cars personally, but I can feel the turbulence building in my mind. Is it me? Is it Mat? Are our bags too big? Our jackets too bright? Am I making too much eye contact? Not enough?

Sensing my agitation, Matt reminds me to breathe. “It’s only ten a.m,” he says, “We’ve got all day.” I take some deep breaths and remind myself that it will all work out as it’s supposed to. As if on cue, a white pickup truck approaches our lane and comes to a stop up ahead. The driver rolls down his window and with a wave of his arm, motions us towards the cab.

We grab our bags and run towards the truck, leaving the mountain bikers wide eyed in disbelief. “Have a good summer!” I yell back as we head off up the road. It’s day one of our cross Canada hitchhiking adventure and aside from my prior turmoil, we’re off to a good start.

In ten short hours, we would travel six hundred kilometers with five fascinating drivers and get dropped off, exhausted but exhilarated, exactly where we wanted to be. In northwest Calgary, a five minute walk from my brother's house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28