Teach English in Thailand - start a new adventure, have time to trade crypto and steemit

in #adventure7 years ago

Teacher Tim.jpg

teacher tim 2.jpg

Dead end job? Unhappy? GIVE IT ALL UP, I did…

I lived east of Los Angeles for over twenty years. The economy was always weak and I went years thinking that any day the company I worked for could shut down, a few times it did. I ended most months with a few dollars left in the bank and a lot of stress.

Well, one day I decided to give it all up and start over and it was the best decision of my life. This option is not for everyone, but there might be someone out there feeling the same way.

I’m here to tell you that there is another option, you can walk away, and you can be happy!!

A few years ago, I decided to try teaching English overseas and picked Thailand. I liked the idea of being by the beach so I chose a Teaching Certificate School on the beach in Cha Am, Thailand. The course lasted around thirty days and I had multiple job offers by the time I finished the course. I’ve been here a few years now and could not be happier. There are thousands of teaching jobs that go unfilled every semester. Having a college degree helps, but there are so many positions open that you can get a job regardless if you present yourself well.

I am providing the guidance below to help anyone interested in doing the same. Move to Thailand and teach about 25 hours a week. You then have time to write music, write a book, trade stocks or crypto-currency, play on steemit, do what makes you happy.

I’m happy to answer any questions you may have so fire away in the comments.

Here are six helpful tips in leaving it all behind to teach in Thailand;

  1. Get a TEFL Certificate
    You need to speak very clear English. The US accent is very popular here. Having a four year college degree puts you in the top 20%, but not necessary. Before you pay for a TEFL School, check with them first to make sure they will support placing you without a degree. The TEFL school I attended guaranteed a teaching position as long as I was flexible on where, but since I had a degree I had multiple choices and still do today.

  2. Speaking Thai
    Schools actually prefer that you don’t speak Thai. It forces you to communicate in English only.

  3. Know When and Where to Find Jobs
    My best guidance is not to worry about when, just go to Thailand to get the certificate and you will find a job. There are enough foreigners who change schools mid-year or have to go home for some reason so jobs are always open. Pick the right TEFL school with connections in an area you want to live and go for it. If you already have a TEFL then you can check out the site Ajarn to look for Thai teaching jobs. The school year begins in May so if you were set on trying to time things, look for a class that ends in April.

  4. Work Permits
    When a school hires you they take care of your Visa and work permit. Before you come to Thailand to take the TEFL class, I highly recommend you get a special Visa that allows you to stay in Thailand longer because the TEFL course and a Visa on Arrival are about the same length. I ended up spending money to fly to other countries to get the extended stamp in my passport which cost me money and time.
    .

  5. Thailand Salary and Cost of Living
    Teachers from the US start around 30,000-32,000 Thai Baht per month (about $900-$1000). This does not sound like much, but renting a nice condo can be less than $125 per month or cheaper depending on what area. Your money goes much further in Thailand so just stay away from cocktails at high end hotels and your fine. Also, most schools provide health insurance.

  6. Culture and Etiquette
    Teachers are highly respected in Thailand. Not just by the general population, but kids respect you as well. I can’t imaging teaching in the US, but the kids here are extremely polite and most really want to learn English.

Thai’s also take their culture very seriously. They know how to have fun and it’s the land of smiles, but the more you try and engage in their culture the more you will enjoy and be liked as well.

If you are a stick in the mud, dislike or refuse to respect their culture then you might not last very long here.

SUMMARY – it is possible to give it all up. Take an adventure and get paid for being happy and adding back to society. I tell so many people about this opportunity, but people are afraid of the perceived risk. Most people love the idea of going on a six month vacation, but for some reason are against getting paid to do it. I say go on a three year vacation, ten year vacation, experience another country and culture and have the time to post on Steemit and make money from Crypto.

Timmy K MMA

Sort:  

I love to read a story about a great fantasy.
I get island fever after 6 months; but those 6 months!

No cabin fever in Thailand. I've never been to Hawaii so maybe I'd get it there. Following you now. I see your a lover of women so this place might be good for you. Lots of pretty girls.

I'll follow anyone who posts a comment. If you have questions about teaching in Thailand then let me know and I will try and help.

How much is the class to get a TEFL? A friend of mine is interested in going to Thailand.

Mine was about $1,250 and included a condo for myself on the beach for 30 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53