Putting things in perspective

in #adventure6 years ago

This shot I love. When you talk about whales and the remote crystal desert known as Antarctic everyone who has never seen it with their own eyes simply smiles and says "wow". However, no photographs rarely do it justice and in my eyes I have never truly been able to capture its real natural magnitude. This shot gives you a little bit of an insight to the that actual magnitude you are faced with when exploring in the icy world in the south.


IMG_3803.jpg


This photo does remind me of just that. There I am standing on the back deck of the ship watching my colleagues interacting with a few humpbacks a couple of miles away with a stunning backdrop of a incredible glacier that can only be 100's of metres in height. To give you an idea of the size of the animals and glacier, the zodiacs are 5m|15ft in length and the two whales are on the far side of that zodiac. The width of the whales fluke is about the same size as the length of the zodiac.


IMG_3901.jpg
A 5m|15ft zodiac with two large humpbacks on its far side by a 100m|330ft ~ I was a few miles away on the ship with a 100-400mm lens

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

i love the view from here! The streetlights in the background of the entry, the gorgeous symmetry of the shot, the pattern the bricks made on the ground, the flanking of those stunning statues on each side and the beauty of the light.

I am not sure if you have commented on the right post...

Amazing, you must get a sense of how small we really are in places like this!

It does give you a great appreciation of just how insignificant somethings in life really are

Definitely!

Your photos look truly impeccable! Especially in this post, capturing a whale tale makes it even more beautiful!

Thanks a heap for your support! I am glad that you enjoyed the post

Breathtakingly beautiful. I had to look twice at the second photo to see the whale and your colleagues - then I really put it in perspective!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31