Turns, Stunts and Shark Attacks ⛵ A Windsurfer's Life! [New GoPro Video Inside]

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. - Jacques Cousteau

Oh I could stay in this net of wonder a whole lifetime!

After my fourth windsurfing session I can definitely say that I've found a new passion. My surfboards must already be jealous since I prefer riding the ones with a sail now.

Today I did a series of turns, both turning the nose and the back side of the board. I'm sure there are concrete names for these moves, but I didn't listen well to my instructor when he repeated them, haha!

Then also a couple of unforeseen actions took place, but I think you better watch the video in order to get an idea of it.

Here's to adventure seeking on Sundays!

edrxdvfhm2.png
@surfermarly having a blast in the water

I am sailing!

It looks so easy at professional windsurfers, but I swear it's not.

Today the wind was blowing a bit faster than during the last session, so controlling the sail was hard work.

And then there was this funny Britain guy who apparently thought it was a good strategy to sail right into me, haha!

It's been a lot of fun editing today's video, I hope you enjoy watching it - here we go!

Guess what I'll be doing for the rest of the day

Exactly: nothing at all - haha!

If you don't hear anything from me during the next 48 hours, it's that I can't move my arms (type into the keyboard) anymore.

Remember: A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor.

Last but not least: Today's album

surfermarly_sailing11.png

surfermarly_sailing9.png

surfermarly_sailing10.png

surfermarly_sailing2.png

surfermarly_sailing5.png

surfermarly_sailing4.png

surfermarly_sailing3.png

surfermarly_sailing7.png

Much love,
Marly -
Steem Ambassador
.
.
.

PS: Please consider supporting my charity project @dreamsoftheocean.

h8k8q6qssd.png
This blog was created in July 2016, aiming to provide thought-provoking content for open-minded people who go on adventure, step out of comfort zones and embrace the new.
Thanks for being part of the journey!

u63vqd930f.png

PS: This blog post was edited and submitted via eSteem Surfer 1.0.11 - my favorite Steem desktop client that was developed by @good-karma's @esteemapp team. Check out their account for more information.

Original content.

Sort:  

Awesome times! Can't wait to get ahold of one of those!

Hey @austinking! Thanks for stopping by in my account, like that I found yours :-)
I couldn't stop myself from resteeming your last post, I think you're creating extraordinarily good content. Hopefully you'll get some more attention for it soon :-)

Happy paddling!

My surfboards must already be jealous since I prefer riding the ones with a sail now.

Oh Yeah good to hear and see you still like it! 😎But don't forget the other boards, they need some loving too. 😍

Hopefully the sail didn't hit you too hard? Was the British guy following a course, or was he freewheeling? I'm curious if they tell you (course participants) about the rules on the water?

What follows next at the course?

Keep on sailing these winds hang loose 🤙

Haha, you know I should provide the other boards with some love, too :-)

We are training in a little bay that is somehow seperated from the area where the more advanced windsurfers are. So there are a lot of newbies from other schools around us, it really seems they don't know the rules on the water (we do).

It didn't hit me hard at all, only the sail pulled me down, and then my jump was a measure of safety in order to escape further damage :-)

What follows next at the course?

Getting better, haha!

O yeah!! @surfermarly on a windsurf board! @Guchtere and I hope to see you in Holland some day. We can show you our best spots and wind urf all day! 🤙 Keep us updated on your progress

thats in Costa Teg right???

I used to surf there, I had a refresher course when I lived there and when there were no waves in Famara....

Wait till they teach you how to use the buckle belt thingy... then you can really hang into the sail with your full weight and pick up speeeeeeddd

but you seem to be enjoying yourself... (i remember the muscle ache all to well)

we did some watersports yesterday of a different kind (check last post) but it was amazing to be in the water anyway...

In English it's mostly referred to as "harness" (with harness lines), but "buckle belt thingy" probably will be understood too.

hehe, yeah, wasnt sure if it was called harness and belt buckle thingy seemed descriptive enough

Exactly! I'm a the Pro Center from Antxon Otaegui. Did you do your refresher course with them, too?

The buckle belt thingy, haha. Yeah I've seen others starting to use it, but I still need to get more stability on the board, train the turns, etc. It's been my 4th day, so I can't expect miracles :-)

Oh the lazy river! Just checked your post. That's a nice weekend activity, too!
Seems that you're having a great summer over there. Enjoy :-)

  • @surfermarly friend that happiness in your face when you are catching the waves I want to do it, how much passion friend, it's great to see everything you do always with a great smile, you are in love with the sea, you are tenderly a friend you enjoy your passion for the sea, thanks for always sharing your videos impregnating, take care of yourself, happy day.Excellent your work balance on the board, you only fell for the contact with the other partner's board, take care of yourself, but always have a great time.

Thanks for stopping by @yeninsfer! :-)
Well that smile automatically appears when I do such type of things. I really love to be surrounded by water :-)

Have a great start into the week!

Damn! You'd think a GREAT,BIG,WIDE OPEN OCEAN there would be room enough for a collision like that NOT to happen.............. ouch! Glad you're OK. Expanding your sport. Excellent!

a very enjoyable adventure while on vacation. maybe one day you have to visit this place. namely Sabang Island, Aceh Indonesia. here the atmosphere is very pleasant.

20180805_170603.jpg

20180805_131805.jpg

both of these images are mine, I share them for you

Looking good, thanks for sharing them with us :-)

Yup indeed.
Awesome video.
But please be safe

IT IS FUN, 100 PERCENT OF ADRENALINE

Absolutely! :-)

Nice water sport and it is very special talent...! good quality photos content publish..thank you ....!

Good to see that you keep practicing.

In case you don't know his moves yet: Caesar Finies youtube video that guy brings rythm on the board.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47