The Endurance Society

in #adventure5 years ago

''Today I will do what others won't do so tomorrow I can do what other's can't.'' -Jerry Rice

NPS-Christina-Warburg-2-848x400.jpg

Happy Friday loves!🌞 💛
I hope this post finds you in great spirits!😚✨

I've been really interested lately into discovering humans beings who have contributed to redefine the limits of the human race.
While for most of my life, I've thought that completing a ironman was already superhuman, little did I know that some decide to push even further.
I've been watching several interviews to try to understand better how these people make the impossible become possible.

One of them is the fascinating Hélène Dumais.
She comes from Montreal and just this year, she realized what very few humans to date have been able to do (in fact, she is the first ever woman who has been ever to complete it, and the 4th athlete to have conquered the so called INFINITUS Race)

What is the Infinitus Race?
A race of endless loops in Vermont that is no less than 888 km long.
Yes you read right. 888 km.
While never in my mind would I have thought that the limits of the human mind and body were infinite, we have a handful of human beings that have proved us wrong since they managed to complete this extreme challenge.
I'm still not sure how they do it, but I will keep on doing my little research as it fascinates me deeply!

https://www.osprey.com/stories/how-i-became-the-first-woman-to-finish-the-infinitus-888k-race/

Recently, my fave ultramarathoner from Montreal, Caroline Côté, took part in the Ultramaratón in Guatemala.
They had to face the jungle, a volcano in eruption and much more!
Needless to say, I admire them for what they do!

https://runningmagazine.ca/trail-running/volcanic-eruption-no-obstacle-for-canadians-in-guatemala/

It's incredible to think that there are humans who just like us out there lead an ordinary life, but are on the other hand capable of putting their foot where very few humans have been before.
They don't all have some magic in their DNA.
They simply have the spirit of a warrior and an incredible thirst for more.

Earlier this summer, another warrior named Monique Richard, was the first person ever to have went to the top of Mount Logan (which is the highest peak in Canada).
The mountain is actually located in my dream destination, beautiful Yukon.⛰
However, the brave Monique has had to call help on her positioning device a day after reaching the summit, as the extreme conditions and her current state made her fear for her life.
An helicopter later came to pick her up.
While sharing the story of her ascension today, she says that if she knew how hard it would have been, she wouldn't have done it.
She was alone during her whole expedition that lasted around 20 days, and she also had to face strong winds reaching 100 km/hour, not to mention the -40 degrees that made her fear for her life numerous times.
Moreover, Monique had the chance of meeting two other quebecers alpinists during her way back, and they are the ones who literally saved her life.
Very touching yet incredibly inspiring story.
It will never cease to amaze me how absolutely brave some human beings are!🌄💚✨

Here's a glimpse of what Mount Logan looks like.

mount-logan.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85