Commercial Diving... "In order for you to understand my passion, you have to share my Crazyness"

in #adventure7 years ago

Logo.png

Commercial Diving

To be honest, i literally stumbled across Commercial diving while i was looking for something else. i wont lie to you, i was looking for money... young, dumb and full of liquid... broke as a joke, just coming out of the navy in a third world country with massive economical problems i found Commercial Diving. i was 25 years old in 2010. that is were it all started...

long story short, it was not an easy thing to choose the right dive school... it was even harder to find the money with massive currency controls... it was a small fortune for me, but you know, the good old trick of perseverance made it possible for me and that is how it all started.

when i got there, i realized that i was the only foreigner. the only one that could not effectively communicate with everybody else, again it all came together as in my class there was 2 other guys that could speak Spanish and kindly (in exchange of beer) helped me. please note that there is not enough words to describe the 5 months i spent in there. when i graduated, i came up as fourth in my class with a GPA of 92.6, upset because i wanted 100, happy because those were the best 5 months in my life so far, nervous because i could not foresee what was coming at me. in the middle of a conundrum of feelings i was DREAMING 24 hours a day.

5 years later, and after thousands of unforgettable experiences, i became a Diving Supervisor, and came to work for the same school that trained me. this time in a different campus in the middle of a Caribbean Paradise for an absolutely ridiculous salary but with all the joy and happiness a person can have. im motivated, im happy with my career, with myself and now

2 years after in 2017 im getting ready to move to another adventure, one that is only for the toughest warriors, for those who have sacrificed their entire lives for the industry, for those that are really passionate about what we do... the adventure is not just another job, it is also a new horizon, a new opportunity to get in love with the underwater world, its about changing peoples lives and bringing development for our societies. it is also the final act of my dreams, which like a movie script, have all come to reality in the exact way that my imagination conceived them.

i honestly can not tell you when was that turning point... when i started loving this career... but one thing is for sure, it is not about the money anymore, it was never about the money... i hope i can still have dreams beyond this point and furthermore i hope i can still dive, till the day i die!


Music by Stone Fella (my brothers band) check them out in all the major musical platforms!

Sort:  

Good music, video, and great story!

thanks !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61