You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proud Moment: First Vegan from India to Successfully Climb to Mt. Everest

in #adventure5 years ago (edited)

This is a huge accomplishment for anyone.
Vegans are strong. :) Thanks for doing this post and mentioning this diet.
I recently adopted a vegan diet. I would love to know what food he brought for the trek up the mountain.

Sort:  

Glad to hear that you are trying a vegan diet. Hope your body is loving it and with time, you will extend veganism beyond your diet too!

As far as your question regarding Kuntal's diet, I haven't paid much attention to it for this ascent but I did read about it when he summitted the Mt. Everest for the first time:

I packed vegan dried meals specifically made by a U.S. company called Outdoor Herbivore. I brought 21 dehydrated and lightweight meal packets like chia pudding, pesto pasta, oatmeal, etc. This is what I did till Camp 3, as after that, the oxygen level decreases so much that you don’t feel like eating solid food. Which is why most people prefer drinking soup to get the necessary calories. I personally don’t like soups, so I skipped it and focused on gels instead. There are 150 calories in a single, compact gel which are filled with carbs and electrolytes. The other things I ate were Oreo biscuits and dried kiwi from packets.

You can read more about it at his blog:
http://www.kuntaljoisher.com/press/vegan-first-a-vegan-mountain-climber-who-conquered-mt-everest/

Maybe I will read that link later. Interesting. No worries, we have been vegetarians for over 30 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66382.93
ETH 3031.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69