Road to Lavaredo Part One

in #adventure6 years ago

Hi everybody,

After a bit of a hiatus, I’m back! That gorgeous little pup I posted pictures of not too long ago passed away and I needed some time to myself.

I figured this post in its entirety will be a bit long so I’m breaking it up. Here is part one.

All those races I’ve been talking about before were in preparation for this... the big one: Lavaredo Ultra Trail in Cortina, Italy. This 120km (76 miles) race takes runners through the Dolomites, a region of the Alps in northeastern Italy. The highest point of the race is around 2500 meters (8000 feet) and runners have 30 hours to make it to the finish. There are cut off times which I will come to find out are extremely strict - more on that later.

CF904082-D9CA-4440-B543-23CA495720D4.jpeg
Collecting my race bib

I found out about this race before I even ran my first marathon in 2014. I watched a four-minute video showing some of the best runners in the world taking on this course and the seed was planted. So I ran my marathon that I talked about in my introduce me post, my first 50k in 2015, 50 miler and 100 miler in 2016 all in preparation for this.

CFBA6E43-84EE-45FD-81DA-46F102D1E115.jpeg
My family and I under the start/finish arch

Most of my family lives in Italy so it was nice for them to come and support me. A good friend of mine was going to crew me - basically driving around to any post he was allowed at to bring me food and a change of clothes.

The weather during the day was quite warm, much warmer than in years past and the race director had decided to cut down on the number of required items we needed to have, mainly cold weather gear. Night time, anything goes. One night before the race it hailed!

1EBDB4A4-8ED2-4304-8BAD-AE7817B1C178.jpeg
HAIL!

The hours were counting down and start time was approaching. Nerves were high as this was my dream race for the last three years. I had dedicated the last six months of my life to training almost every day for this. It was exciting and terrifying.

We took our time exploring the area and eating our weight in pizza and gelato. The race would start at 11 pm and we would run through the night. The lucky ones would finish the next day but the slow pokes like me would run through the next night.

My family all hung out in the hotel room watching me prepare. It felt something similar to a wedding day. The clock hit 10:30 and it was time to go stand at the start line.

Make sure to follow me so you can check back in to see what happens next!

4941A200-0565-408D-A8D4-B72944DD8A29.jpeg
Beautiful Cortina d’Ampezzo

0C8B9526-CC34-4FFF-8930-6104C7E1D897.jpeg
The love of my life: gelato

9A3F2620-C2D2-4229-AF74-53E944E3D615.jpeg
Nerves and excitement

Sort:  

Welcome back @raelynnbianca and sorry to hear about the little pup. We were going to say 'where were you? We thought you left', but we understand the circumstances and having some time off to yourself is needed.

You have to run 120km in 30 hours otherwise there is a cut off?! Damn, that's tough on yourself physically and mentally! Can't work that in our minds at the moment, but sort of pace per kilometre is that?
✈️👫

Sorry- back, kinda. Haven’t had much motivation to write.

So there are cutoffs along the course. You have to reach each one in order to continue. I’ll explain more in my next post which I’m going to start writing ... now.

That's fine we understand. We don't write on our holidays or trips away. Also, life has gotten the better of us for time to time lately - we also missed out on scheduled posts. We will keep on going until we feel it's best to change schedule, but don't put pressure on yourself to write!
Looking forward to your next post (if it's not out already) 😊

Sorry to hear about your pup. :( Seeing pet losses are the worst thing about social media.. I've taken to sending my condolences later, after people have some time to cope.

Yeah it sucks a lot. Still managing although Bruno is having a tougher time it seems.

Glad to see ya back on here though!

Better late than never I suppose

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65