Hiking higher than the Empire State Building while Philadelphia freezes

in #adventure7 years ago

Seriously, so cold. We’ve had 20 degrees temperatures on average here just about every day of 2018 with a few rando 50-60 degree days so it’s making training a challenge in this icy wonderland.

Due to a mishap in the gym last week, I hurt my back and have had to take a few days off running. I have just started training for Lavaredo (https://www.ultratrail.it/en/) again so I took my workout to the treadmill today.

One hour at 10% incline (about 3 miles) was able to get me 1,584 feet of elevation gain. That’s about 150 feet or so higher than the Empire State Building!

Here are a few pictures from a recent run that I braved the cold weather.

CA47BD60-A4FB-48CA-B34E-A0DC38F8776D.jpeg

What I am wearing:
2 pairs of cold gear pants from Old Navy
2 pairs of Farm to Feet wool running socks
Tank top
REI base later long sleeve
North Face thermoball jacket
Balaclava
Gloves
And my Lavaredo Buff around my ears to remember why I’m doing this.

920675F2-47E4-4267-891E-C3DAFDF72B93.jpeg

Stay warm!!

Sort:  

Wow, its so pretty to see the pieces of ice in the water under the bridge. The cold gotta be painful though. Nevertheless, beautiful and very peaceful sight.

As long as you keep moving it’s not soooo bad.

Nice and cosy over here in Thailand, so we recommend you stay warm ;)
Take it easy, don't want to agitate that back :) stay strong!

I wish it was Thailand warm here!

Wow! Good for you. That last image is just stunning by the way.

Thank you! It was really pretty! That river is usually kinda gross haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70