Box Hill - National Trust Park

in #adventure6 years ago

Hello everyone,

I hope you are all well.

Since about last year I was wishing to visit Surrey Hills - often described as an "Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty".

Finally yesterday, it has been my first time at Box Hill National Trust Park here in England, which is part of Surrey Hills. It has been an unexpectedly adventurous day with people from all age groups and nationalities. The weather was just perfect: sunny - with a bit of a breeze. The greenery and scenery were beautiful and relaxing.

There are different trails to choose from. We have chosen the "Stepping Stone Walk" in the belief that it would be the less exhausting one compared to the other walks which were more than 2 miles long. However, we were greatly mistaken. It took us 4 to 5 hours to complete it as opposed to 1.5 hours as stated in the leaflet we were given at the beginning of our challenge! We also thought this trail could have been more accurately named as the "Tripping Stone Walk" as one really had to watch out not to trip over stones, slippery spots or outgrown tree roots.

Still, we thoroughly enjoyed it whilst so many others were celebrating the Royal Wedding. Congrats to Harry and Meghan - may you live happily forever! I have of course watched all the repeats today and now I feel that I have been personally at the wedding yesterday all day :)

Well, I kind of got hooked on everything related to hiking since yesterday and I have already ordered my first proper hiking backpack after spending hours and hours choosing the perfect one for me so that I am ready and armored for my next harder and bigger challenge at Box Hill National Trust Park.

Well done to my friend, who was not very keen to walk over the stepping stones placed in a small river as she feared to fall into the water, however she made it to the other side - dry, happy and proud of her accomplishment! :)

I would recommend Surrey Hills to anyone living nearby or far away for a nice day out in nature with your family or friends for a sporty walk, lovely stroll or just a picnic. Just make sure you check the British weather forecast beforehand ;)

Until another time folks...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85