Remembering the Abacos summer.

in #adventure6 years ago

This morning I am reflecting on the times when I was living aboard different sailing vessels. One of the most memorable experiences was when I worked as a mate on a boat in the Venture program for youth interested in learning how to sail and wanting to experience tropical waters and snorkeling. Me and Capt Newel G. would lead up to 12 kids on the adventure of their lifetime. They would stay on the decks of a 60 foot steel boat that Newel made himself .

Our days consisted of island hopping through out the Abacos in the Bahamas for a whole week. The kids would learn basic sailing and live-aboard priniciples and would have a snorkel destination each day with various attractions at each site. We would fish and eat and gather conchs and make conch fritters. We swam with sharks and sea turtles and slept under the stars. We would anchor out and swim to shore and climb light houses. We played volley ball on remote beaches and climbed palm trees.

One trip a chaperone was attacked by a barracuda. He was kind of a jerk and the Captain and he clashed on a lot of occasions. Newel felt that he had it coming, but i just feel it was a strange coincidence. He was an incredible jerk though. We had to stabilize the wound, and control the bleeding. He did begin to go into shock while we were waiting for the helicopter to air lift him to the nearest hospital. Thankfully, it was on the last day, because the kids did not have much interest in swimming after that.


capt Newel G.

I would play my ukulele each night as the sun was setting, and I remembered all my dreams. I remember thinking on many occasions that my body and spirit felt at home. I feel that way when surfing or kiting,... but I lived in that way on the boat.

Sort:  

wow, reading your post makes me feel like i am into the adventure too. that’s what I called life😊🍷 cheers to your adventures

I am scared of deep water and I'm amazed by people who live like you. What an experience! Barracudas are one of the reason I don't go to water that often :) Thank you for the article!

I am reading your post and i am feeling that i was there with you,i feel inspired by your views...

this is really cool, it should be great to go out there and sail and get to know places that nature allows us to appreciate

Hola @ourdailyboard
Me imagino que disfrutaste muchísimo tu trabajo.
Gracias a Dios esa mala experiencia no termino en nada trágico.
Saludos y Gracias por el artículo.

ALWAYS REFLECT. Time is short.....the days are long but the years are short. Such an awesome adventure, keep up the adventures and reflecting on them will help you remember the good times and to keep on keeping on with them.
I love the water, not a big fan of the sea with all of its uncharted depths! Beautiful pics! :)

Oh wow. It sounds as if it an experience of a life time. There is something about the sea and the sun which just makes a day magic.

I just loved that part with "slept under the stars ".
Guess I'm kind of a romantic dude.
Yeah, I'm guilty as I can be !

😁

Anyway, looks like a great adventure.
Sail away !

Beautiful post!

I love freedom on the seabed ❤️⚓️⛵️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05