27 waterfalls

in #adventure6 years ago

If you ever find yourself in the Puerto Plata area in the Dominican Republic, be sure to book the 27 waterfalls tour. Aka 27 Charcos.

You climb up, slide down, jump off of, and hike all around some of the most beautiful waterfalls imaginable.

You have to wear a helmet on the tour. Which I was glad for the policy when I stood at the top of a large waterfall and announced "CANNONBALL" right before a fell and smacked my head on the rock and tumbled awkwardly down to a belly flop in the pool below.

Also, I was surprised to learn that most companies have their guides trained in basic first aid and CPR. You are hiking to a rather remote area where you will be glad to have an experienced guide with back country training. They are amazing! They were climbing all the trees and picking fruits for my family as we hiked through the challenging terrain.

Though there are a lot of different tour options with different costs and lengths, I would recommend doing all 27 falls. You have already made the trek into the remote jungle terrain. You might as well cough up the extra $20-30 USD to have the full experience. I will say, however, that you better be in good shape, because the hiking is moderately strenuous.

At the end of the tour you are fed a traditional dominican meal of pollo(chicken), beans and rice.

Unforgettable experience overall.

Sort:  

I am pretty sure I was drunk on Presidente when I did that a couple years ago

hahahah! I don't know how you managed the hike!

Amazing waterfall! I'm from Venezuela, and here we have the world's highest uninterrumpted waterfall!! 1200px-Salto_del_Angel-Canaima-Venezuela08.JPG

It is called "Salto Ángel-Angel Falls". Appeared in the Disney movie up, do you remember?
descarga (5).jpg

It would be amazing to know in person all of this natural wonders.

very beautiful :)

Visited a few very long time ago. Every one remember famous man made wonders but there should be a list of nature build wonders and these waterfalls are a few of them.

hopefully someday I can visit this place, happy to see you happy, success is always for you @ourdailyboard

Thank you for posting about your travel. This is my way to enjoy the beauty of other countries, because imposible for me to visit them. Sorry my English is not perfect

The adventure you lived is great, I have an acquaintance who has traveled to the Dominican Republic and I confess that it has been one of the most spectacular trips he has ever made, I do not lose the hope of going to one of those places shown in his photos , an adventure to the fullest, a friendly greeting from Venezuela.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16