Voyage to Colombia and a nasty surprise in the airport [Part 1]

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

A story about flying from Dominican Republic to Colombia despite all the efforts of airlines to prevent me from doing it.

It all started in Punta Cana airport, to which we arrived a few hours early. We had some time to chill on the grass before heading to the registration.
If I only knew what expects me there I wouldn't be wasting my time like this.

DSC04343.jpg

Meet Flo

One does not simply board a plane, right? Every time I have to deal with international flights I expect trouble and turn out to be correct way too often.
However, things got especially bad this time.

The issues started immediately, on the registration. Wingo airlines employees couldn't find my booking.
It turned out, when I booked a ticket online, the fare transaction failed even as booking was made. Their website showed me the confirmation, I got my ticket on email and all that. I usually check such things as you can never trust internet connection, especially in 3rd world countries. But this time I couldn't because my bank app just updated and was having glitches, not showing the transaction history.

So later they canceled my booking and I had no idea.
They simply sent me an unnoticeable email which got lost among tons of thrash that inevitably plague every active email inbox.

But of course everything became clear in the airport.
Arguing with airline personnel and hotline support proved to be useless, nobody gives a shit about you when you get fucked over by an airline.
And they wouldn't let me buy a new ticket then as it was "too late".
From airport personnel I learned that it's usual situation for Wingo, happens on a regular basis.
AVOID this shitty airline at all costs, if you know what's good for you.
Later Florian, who successfully boarded the plane, added insult to the injury, reporting that the plane was half-emply.

And so, I lost my flight. But there was still a chance to fly with a different airline from the other terminal.
Even though I would need to pay twice as much and deal with another airline, Avianca.
Which proved to be even worse than Wingo, so AVOID this one as well.

They told me I have to have a return ticket from Colombia in order to board their plane (!).
Usually, you would be asked for return tickets by migration police and airline wouldn't care a bit. Somehow it was the other way around this time.
There were no warnings on the internet, so if you book a one-way ticket with this airline you won't be allowed to board a plane.
And I bet nobody would refund your losses, not to mention broken plans and a ruined trip.
While I was arguing with their incompetent employees who couldn't even speak English, then making a semi-legit booking out of Colombia, it was already too late.

Protip: when you have no intention to buy a return ticket, but someone demands it, you can make a temporary booking for ~5$ on euroavia.ru (it's in russian).
They will make a temporary booking, that appears on global databases and should be sufficient for any check.
That is important when you get asked by airline, 'cause these guys WILL check the legitimacy of your booking. Unlike many migration offices and embassies, who never actually validated "tickets" that I shown them.

Anyways. At that point I just wanted to leave the damned island by any means. So I took care about the "return ticket" and bought a ticket for tomorrow. Twice as expensive.

That night I slept in the airport. The only upside there was a free WiFi. However, this was not over yet...

If you liked this post, consider giving it an upvote or resteem. Follow me for more cool stuff and stay loco!

Check out my travel blog as well!

Previous posts:
Ancient, dusty Meybod city and 2000 years old Narin Castle, Central Iran
Japanese aesthetics in Dominican Republic
Architectural Photography: Ornate Bazaar ceiling in Kashan, Iran
Сityscape Photography: Rooftops of Persia
Haiti: Poverty, gangsters and UN party

Sort:  

In our countries (of the third world), things instead of going forward, sadly go backwards; there is no training and tact in the importance of tourism in our area and it seems that many times the worst individuals are chosen to serve the users. How shameful! Imagine, the problems for you are not over yet; We will wait for the outcome of another unfortunately bad episode in the tour that you carry out in our region. Greetings @nameless-berk

It isn't over, but I need more time to do writing and arrange it in a post. Lately I have no time, no energy and no motivation looking as my investments go down the drain. Gonna be left with nothing soon if it goes on like this

That's bad luck man.
I had an experience with an Argentinian airline were we missed our return flight due to a landslide across the highway and they wouldn't allow us book for the next day unless we paid triple the price of the full flight over to Argentina in the first place.
It's such a horrible feeling when you know that you're never going to win the argument and you're just going to get fucking screwed over.
Good tip about the return flight booking. Safe travels my friend.

That sucks as an experience... We just flew with them in Columbia last month and they weren't very friendly in Columbia at all. In Panama they were much nicer. The seats are so small and when you upgrade the leg room...it's not by much so don't bother! Nice tip on the booking temp ticket sight that's really helpful for not knowing when you're leaving or ready to leave! Glad you worked it out and sorry to hear it cost you extra!

A really crazy experience! People who work in the airports usually don't give a damn about customers, until you mention something like a demand or something like that. So sad your trip was ruined :(

I'm still not comfortable buying tickets online.
When I leave Moscow, and the sister buys an online ticket, then I come to the train, it seems to me that I was left without a ticket.
But so far all is well.
In your situation, I would definitely go crazy.

amazing story! Thanks for sharing.
I haven't had the travel opportunities you have had.
I will read part 2 immediately.
 

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=voyage-to-colombia-and-a-nasty-surprise-in-the-airport-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43