The Big Move

in #adventure7 years ago

Man have I missed writing! Being back home meant the start of our big move so I've had no time to write in between packing up an entire flat by myself whilst still running a household (cleaning went out the window!), looking after twins and trying to keep myself sane. Let me tell you, letting go of the cleaning drove my OCD up the wall but I eventually made friends with the dust bunnies and peace with the hair balls gathering all over the lounge carpet; luckily my partner is on rubbish and dishes duty or we'd have been adopting some roaches too.

Right now I'm sitting in my ouma's lounge in Newcastle (South Africa not UK) and it's the first moment I've had in a while to just sit and relax. Ok well, kind of relax because I'm expressing milk and typing this. At least I'm not chatting to the dust bunnies whilst packing up our lives and picking puree out of my hair again. I feel like this needs a hashtag...#momlife or #sucker. Aaaanywho, we moved here from Cape Town and yes, I know, "why on earth would you do that?!" has been said so many times and is often accompanied by some smirk implying we're complete idiots for wanting to abandon the exquisite Cape; Capetonians are super snobs about how no where else on earth is worth a penny in comparison and yes it's bloody beautiful! Look-see for yourself:

City center right on the waters edge
5104226627001_5401213054001_5398830348001-vs.jpg

Noordhoek beach, right near where I lived
Noordhoek-Beach-Cape-Town-Horse-Riding.jpg

Noordhoek Farm Village, our favourite Sunday hangout, lying on the grass and eating Kristen's Kickass Ice-cream or on a Thursday for the best all-you-can-eat sushi nights at Village Sushi
5184802982_5221edd612.jpg

Noordhoek common, a favourite picnic spot
dsc_2750.jpg

Cape Town really is breathtaking. Argh, that's made me quite homesick. Well, for our old home. Now we live in Newcastle, it's a little different:

As you arrive
2.jpg

Newcastle in it's lush summer glory
newcastle-kwazulu-natal-590x390.jpg

A picture I took early one morning before the International Yoga Day class and talk
IMG_20170625_072242.jpg

City Center, which is actually quite grotty. There are so many little places outside city center that we don't need to actually go there very often.
60183975.jpg

Man have I missed writing! Being back home meant the start of our big move so I've had no time to write in between packing up an entire flat by myself whilst still running a household (cleaning went out the window!), looking after twins and trying to keep myself sane. Let me tell you, letting go of the cleaning drove my OCD up the wall but I eventually made friends with the dust bunnies and peace with the hair balls gathering all over the lounge carpet; luckily my partner is on rubbish and dishes duty or we'd have been adopting some roaches too.

Right now I'm sitting in my ouma's lounge in Newcastle (South Africa not UK) and it's the first moment I've had in a while to just sit and relax. Ok well, kind of relax because I'm expressing milk and typing this. At least I'm not chatting to the dust bunnies whilst packing up our lives and picking puree out of my hair again. I feel like this needs a hashtag...#momlife or #sucker. Aaaanywho, we moved here from Cape Town and yes, I know, "why on earth would you do that?!" has been said so many times and is often accompanied by some smirk implying we're complete idiots for wanting to abandon the exquisite Cape; Capetonians are super snobs about how no where else on earth is worth a penny in comparison and yes it's bloody beautiful! Look-see for yourself:

City center right on the waters edge
5104226627001_5401213054001_5398830348001-vs.jpg

Noordhoek beach, right near where I lived
Noordhoek-Beach-Cape-Town-Horse-Riding.jpg

Noordhoek Farm Village, our favourite Sunday hangout, lying on the grass and eating Kristen's Kickass Ice-cream or on a Thursday for the best all-you-can-eat sushi nights at Village Sushi
5184802982_5221edd612.jpg

Noordhoek common, a favourite picnic spot
dsc_2750.jpg

Cape Town really is breathtaking. Argh, that's made me quite homesick. Well, for our old home. Now we live in Newcastle, it's a little different:

As you arrive
2.jpg

Newcastle in it's lush summer glory
newcastle-kwazulu-natal-590x390.jpg

A picture I took early one morning before the International Yoga Day class and talk
IMG_20170625_072242.jpg

City Center, which is actually quite grotty. There are so many little places outside city center that we don't need to actually go there very often.
60183975.jpg

Newcastle is an industrial, conservative, one-horse town (maybe minus the horse) in the middle of nowhere; midway between Durban and Jo'burg. Lol, ok it is beautifully lush in summer and at least doesn't have Durban's stifling humidity. The people are friendly and helpful, the pace of life slower and the cost of living lower.

Reasons for moving? My gran had to sell the flat we were living in and Newcastle seemed like the best option right now. It's cheaper to live here, we have more family support, and we'll all have a better quality of life here. It's just too taxing in Cape Town with two surprise tiny humans and the cost of living being absolutely ridiculous in comparison to the pittance of a salary that most places offer. So here we are for the next few years, building a more stable and happy foundation for our new little family unit. Here's to hope and adventure!

Sort:  

South Africa has some really wild beauty left, a perk of being third world :P

Truly amazing post 👍

great pics - especially the 2nd one :)

Thank you :)

Congratulations @momnivogue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91