Guess what I got for my Birthday...

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

Just got home from a pretty busy day today.

The National Porsche Club (Porsche Club GB) held their annual Christmas get-together today and I believed Trev was feeling a little guilty because it happened to be held on my birthday and I was OK with us going down there for a day out. Plus Trev has been apologising all day because 'the thing' he'd ordered for my birthday hadn't turned up.

IMG_1976.JPG

We set out from home for a two hour journey on a miserable morning.

There was a Christmas market and I had a little money from my In-Laws to spend and if we had time, we'd pop in to see his 911SC that's being renovated.

With me so far?

So we went to the Porsche Club GB HQ and said hello to a few people we know. We had a coffee and a walk around the car park - I'm NOT kidding, there had to be 150+ Porsches there today (including Trev's Cayenne Turbo) - WHAT a turn-out!

IMG_1996.JPG

Then, we strolled over to Rennsport where the 911SC is undergoing a bit of TLC.

IMG_1923.JPG

IMG_1927.JPG

Trev has been hanging his nose over a new car just lately (it's his turn, I had the Mustang last year) - hence the BMW and Maserati visits (with more to come) so I did think that's the real reason we went out to look at Porsches.

We had a word with Paul, the guy Trev's been talking with about the renovation, and then we went down to the factory to take a look at how the work is going.

Rennsport are the guys that make the 'Retro' Rennsport 911RS and they do a cracking job!

IMG_1940.JPG

IMG_1932.JPG

So, I followed Trev onto the factory floor...

"Happy Birthday, Wife," he said.


I don't take delivery until next year, but I now own a classic, 1978 Porsche 911SC

Yes of course, we're married and it goes without saying what's his is mine and what's mine is also mine, but it's certainly the thought that counts.

I'm exceptionally lucky and extremely happy.

All our own pics.

Sort:  

WHAT???

You just got a Porsche????

AWESOME!

Well, we already had the Porsche - it has been in 'storage' for 25 years since we couldn't afford to have it serviced and maintained etc.

Now we're in a better place, financially (the kids left home joke) and we can afford a few things, we're making the most of it all.

But yeah... it's really awesome! Thank you :)

WOW!

In a way thats even cooler! How exciting. Congrats and have FUN with it!

Thank you! We sure will :)

Have you taken it for a nice drive yet???

I drove it when I was 23 but I don't take delivery until early next year (estimated April).

We drove more than 1000 miles in a week the first week we had it - not bad to say we both worked full-time then.

Oh the memories!

Happy Birthday ❤️!! You re Lucky for having a great man that loves you and he is lucky for having you !!

Thank you!

Yeah, I think we both know how lucky we are - and we tell each other (probably one of the major reasons we're both happy).

Happy Birthday!

Happy Birthday!

The Yellow foglights are awesome. Keep the plates.

That's not my car, that was one the company is restoring. It just looked interesting :)

Ooft, happy birthday indeed! :0D

@michelle.gent Happy Birthday
very interesting
I'm sure you get a good car
send regards for success

Oh wow! I... I am going to be proud of our tiny Toyota.

I had a Toyota! I kept it for 14 years, I loved that car. We had to sell it to make room for the 'Stang.

I walk a lot. :P

You are very lucky and can get anything you want, because your financial ability is very supportive for it,
But I think the most special thing is when you get my Happy Birthday from me .....
Yaaa .... from the depths of my deepest heart say HAPPY BIRTHDAY MICHELLE.GENT, hopefully long life and always blessed

Thank you. Yes, I am really lucky :)

Haha! Thank you!

Wow.. very nice surprise from your husband. Happy birthday. Wish you all the best

Yes, it really was a nice surprise. Thank you.

Wow, jealous! Nothing like the classics!

Thank you!

We've owned the car for 30 years and it's been in one garage or another for most of that time. The renovations are being done in time for the car's 40th anniversary.

I just didn't think I'd be getting my hands on the ownership papers! :)

Wow, even cooler!

Yeah! I'm still grinning like a loon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52