Urban Exploration: Tunnels!

in #adventure7 years ago

I think many of us love a good adventure... but some don't realize how close to home a good adventure can be had! Apparently, this adventure was beneath my feet for years... check it out!
I spent a solid hour wandering this maze of tunnels. Some of it was lit, most of it was really really dark.

tunnelStraightSm.jpg
litTunnelSm.jpg

I never found any dead ends, just more tunnels and turns, so I have no idea how extensive the network really is! I popped out after only an hour because it was just me, my flashlight, and my camera down there (at 3am), so I was definitely starting to get a bit claustrophobic... and sleepy...
Anyway, I came across some sections where the insulation on the pipe had deteriorated and the tunnel was crazy hot and muggy.

insulationFailureSm.jpg

There were also junctions with valves and ducts that were similarly uncomfortable. I think the pipe must supply heat to the surrounding buildings!?? I didn't try touching it, but I'm sure the whole thing is scalding hot.

buildingSupplySm.jpg
valveSm.jpg

Most of the tunnels were tall enough to stand up in, but there were also plenty of perpendicular cross-tunnels that were much shorter. I haven't crawled down one of those... yet...

sideTunnelSm.jpg

Like most good urban exploration spots, I'm probably not really supposed to be down there, and I honestly don't know what the consequences might be at this particular location... All I know is that it made for a pretty awesome night!

Hope you enjoyed the pictures!
Happy adventuring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47