You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 9 Things I’ve Learned From a Year of Van Life

in #adventure7 years ago

Great post, I can relate to a lot of this, but I also remember what it was like when me and my partner took to the road all them years ago, before we had kids, we lived in a tiny van with no heating and now real plan, we still managed a year but it was tough, we tried again a year later and only for six months but it was more enjoyable, we then had kids, house, family car and realized that the road was tough but I was nowhere near as tough and as boring as having a house. We have been on the road 4yrs now with the kids and we truly feel at home now, we have our friends land in Spain where we spend a lot time, and then when we are back in Sweden we stay at the same place, so we have places that feel like home but it's so nice to be able to pack up and move on when we get bored or restless. We have been searching for land this whole time, and in September we go to Portugal to start our eco community, but I'm sure we will still jump in the truck and hit the road as much as possible.
I would say it takes 2years to fully get into the swing of it, and if you make it past 2yrs it will be hard to go back.
Thanks for sharing

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the advice. This is the end of our first year in the van. And we return "home" soon. But it's certainly changed the pattern in which we live our lives. Getting back on the road when we have children is certainly something we hope to do. And we are looking for our own land/community to become a part of. But I guess you're path is a few years ahead. (:
Excited to see what you do and what new advice you come by.
Tell the family hi!

I find this really interesting. Most people with this type of lifestyle either "live" in bali, or they travel around, but they are usually single. Amazing that you can do it with a family. And I think it has to be good for relationships within the family when you go through a lot of things together - and see a lot of places together. Meet a lot of people together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51