Another day exploring the Pacific Northwest - Heybrook Ridge

in #adventure7 years ago

I made it out of town a week ago, on a rare break in the PNW rain, to explore Heybrook Ridge (about an 80 minute drive from Seattle).


Since there were storm clouds in the sky, and water on the ground, we wanted a short hike with a nice payout (views!), that was relatively close to the city. We hit up WTA.org, found this easy 3.3 mile hike with a 760ft elevation gain, and off we went. Although it poured rain on the drive there, we stuck it out (who’s afraid of a little rain?) and got to the trailhead with not a drop in the sky.

One of the best parts of this little adventure was parking underneath an incredible railway bridge adjacent to the trailhead. We did just a bit of exploring...when I see a bridge like this I feel the urge to cross it!



Up to no good, and out on the tracks. ;)



Steel and nature. I love this combination.

After exploring the bridge, we hit the trail.



Here you see my boyfriend out ahead, leading the way through a wet, mossy wonderland up the mountain. There was an abundance of green and dramatic lighting with the storm clouds rolling overhead. We encountered no less than 3 groups on our way up who warned us of high winds at the summit saying “Be careful up there”. To be fair, at times the wind howled in the trees and I stopped in a clear patch to watch the forest and make sure nothing was falling! This is probably not the most advisable thing to be doing, but we were having fun.

A close up.



Because of the constant rain, the entire forest was coated in moss and new fern growth. Even though spring is a few months away, you can tell that the rain forest is getting ready to burst forth soon.

Finally, a break in the trees as we made our way to the ridgeline. Cash guards the way.



After venturing up the mountain (we encountered 12inch deep, 12ft diameter puddles, slush, snow, mud, and other obstacles) we broke out on top of the ridge and finally started to see some payoffs for our work!

Here you can see down the valley in between this mountain and the next!



The clearing in the trees was caused by loggers, who cleared this path for a power line that gets energy up to folks living higher in the region. The path creates a beautiful view, sloping down off the mountain.

And finally, the other side of the ridge, up into the mountains!



Dramatic storm clouds kept us from getting the full view, but this was a different kind of wild, rugged beauty. As warned, the winds ripped along the ridgeline, but after the hike up it felt strangely wonderful to cool down. At the very top from where I took this shot, WTA workers have built a few benches in a circle, making it a perfect spot to have your picnic after a short hike. We’ll definitely be back this summer--when things are dryer it will be the perfect “after work” dinner time picnic location for a long evening.


And finally, this post wouldn’t be complete with plugging one of my favorite organizations, the Washington Trails Association (WTA).



The Washington Trails Association (WTA) is a nonprofit in Washington state that empowers hikers and protects trails. They educate, conserve, and protect Washington’s trails system...and they have an extensive map of all in-state hikes with regularly updated trail reports, driving directions, and other valuable information. There are many hiking websites out there...but none so complete or so usable as this (at least not that I’ve found, but I’d love your recommendations!).

When I moved to Washington three and a half years ago after four years in New York I desperately wanted to start hiking, but I didn’t know where to start. WTA has been the single-most valuable resource in motivating me to get outdoors regularly (I hike 1-2 times a week usually!).


What motivates you to get outdoors? What tips, resources, and opportunities inspire you to be in nature?



FYI, all images captured on my trusty iPhone 8+

Check out more of my work:
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 04
The State of the Art | Race and gender in American theatre.
What is Art and Who Defines It?

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg




Sort:  

Ok those two first pictures...stole my heart !!!! Wow !!!

Thanks so much for stopping by to check it out! :)

Wow - that's an incredibly beautiful environment to go explore! I love rainy/stormy weather, they create the best photo ops :-)

Yes! Sometimes it’s almost more beautiful when clouds are in the way (a different kind of lovely!).

This is so beautiful, that forest is lush, I would like to be transported there now please. What a wonderful place to spend your time. Thank you for sharing it with us x

SO LUSH. I can never get over how green it stays here all year round...but I guess that’s what happens when you live in a temperate rain forest. If you ever get a chance to visit and explore you definitely should! Some great hikes around for children and young people too!

those are some great pics Lily! thanks for sharing this with us! :)

Thanks for stopping by Andy! :)

What a view,I love nature!

Appreciate you stopping by to check it out. So many viewssss!

That’s a great hike. Hiking muddy trails is rather challenging, but it looks like the payoff was worth it. Thanks for sharing.

Oh, haha, it was quite the challenge. Running water, snow, the whole nine yards. But it also makes it fun because its a bit like an obstacle course!

wow, so beautiful nature!

Lovely to see pictures of the Pacific Northwest @lilyraabe.
I lived in Seattle for a couple of years some time back and I loved all the hiking around there.
My favourite was the Olympic National Park. So pristine and unspoiled although everywhere we hiked was beautiful.

Thanks for stopping by! Seattle and the surrounding area is so beautiful...like you I’m very partial to the Olympic Peninsula...so many incredible sights to see!

Thanks for taking us on your journey. I especially loved the hike. The forest is so green, and the ferns made me feel like I was in a prehistoric forest.

It absolutely feels a bit like Jurassic Park every time we go hiking! :) Thanks for stopping by to check out the post.

Lovely scenery and beautiful forest, I wish I could join this hike. Maybe need to find a route nearby for the weekend!

You should definitely find somewhere nearby if you can get outside easily. :) Always worth it. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72