My sweet 2016steemCreated with Sketch.

A year of things happening really fast and ending too soon, a taste of things to come
and of desired repeat adventures

I guess New Year's posts technically don't count anymore since as I'm writing this we're already more than a week into the 2017 but I didn't want to let it just pass and also didn't want to post some generic "happy new year!"
Better late than never right?

2016 was a year that had a little bit of everything; I'll try and recap...
In semi chronological order...

I ended a long term relationship with a person I loved very much. I know it was the right thing to do; I wish her all the best and hope she finds all the love & happiness she deserves with somebody that will be right for her; I'm doing the same after all and just because things needed to end, it doesn't mean they weren't important and won't remain valuable throughout my life. I'll always hold a place for her and our relationship in my heart.

I went to Vegas, twice (I know, ironic this is the second thing on my list). Each time for very different reasons and neither for doing very traditional "Vegas" things; I'll simply summarize by saying that they were travel adventures of friendship, self exploration & growth sprinkled in with a little bit of chaos & badassery (it was Vegas after all)

To the dismay of my mom, (who didn't find out until I came back) I went sky diving with very close friends and had a blast falling from the sky; the landing safely and Not dying a horrible splattered death was ok to....
Up next was a trip years in the making. I set everything up with my passport and off to Cuba I went; in part because of the morbid curiosity with seeing it before the US and other countries turn it into a Caribbean Capitalist resort, loosing its charm and soul in the process; and in part to explore & learn from a country so politically & culturally different than mine (or so I thought) that I had to experience it for myself. Ultimately I visited for reconnecting with family (yes, I have Cuban blood in me) that I'd never met before in my life but somehow missed. I don't feel I had a classic trip in Cuba but I definitely got a side of Cuba that most would only get to experience on documentary film. From Paladares to Casas Particulares to paying 10dlls for a 4 block cab ride (it should have been 1dllr) to paying 55cents US for a pizza after I had thought the lady told me 10dlls (almost 1 month's worth of income for them)... I also started a mojito making challenge and got hired as an honorary Barman at a cool spot named 2 Copas; I got to roll my own Cuban cigar and became an impromptu language interpreter for Texas businessmen and locals until they kicked us out of the restaurant at 7am... Any way; my suggestion dear reader "Go to Cuba!"

Drank some wine and took in the night sky at the world famous Baja Winery Encuentro with my San Fran friend Tino. Driving up the hill on this dirt road trail leading to these awesome bungalows and a bar next to an Infiniti pool where we took in the sunset and the stars right in the heart of the Valley; The Baja Wine Valley is a sight to see.

Two of my closest friends got married and now live happily in their little love nest. This would be pretty much where this ends if it wasn't for the fact that I got to be best man and do my first ever wedding speech for one of them, and jetsetted to New York for 3 days to attend and be a witness for the other. Don't ask me about what to do in NY, I didn't see any of the Iconic sites ( only 3 days including travel time; remember?) with the possible exception of Central Park. Go to Central Park; There, you're welcome for the advice....

Two other close friends had their first baby or were recent new parents and oddly enough both gave them the same name out of total coincidence... I wonder if it had anything to do with the new Star Wars movie coming out so recently???

Coming back to my life events and not living vicariously through my friends; This year I dove deeper into a new business endeavor (aside from keeping my regular 9 to 6 gig) with the hopes of financial stability & growth; boy was I wrong. It has been one of the most time consuming & stressful things I've ever had to do in 2016 but it has been very rewarding, exciting and educational; definitely pushed me beyond many expectations and boundaries I had for myself and has opened up the door to great opportunities. My best advice if wanting to start a Side gig: You enjoy sleep?... don't start a business!. You want life satisfaction? Risk, do, fail & learn!; rinse & repeat.
Also this year I hired an assistant; yes I know it sounds pretentious but it has been great since I don't think I would have been able to accomplish as much as I have this year; besides she's awesome and super talented!

I vandalized US federal property; how you ask? Great question! I Left my mark by splashing my hands in red paint and double handed high fived the pillars at one of the most Infamous Border walls in the world right at the intersection of both places I call home.

Oh, did I mention I gained like 15lbs of fat?.... no? Well, I gained like 15lbs of fat this year... at least most my clothes still fit me 😒. Prioritizing exercise and proper nutrition is on my "to do" list perpetually for the next years to come.
Luckily for me some childhood friends opened up this awesome fitness spot focusing on military workouts & Special Forces Combat Training... I plan to be a badass from here on out; that is, if my friends don't dislocate my fingers or injure me when channeling their inner Chuck Norris/ Bruce Lee/Super Saiyen force again.

My brother and his wife announced they were having a baby on Christmas 🎄 really proud of them and I know my future nephew will be very lucky to have them both as parents; my moms look in her face as she heard the news was priceless 🙃

It hasn't all been fun & games and unfortunately I have lost some loved ones that will be forever missed; no regrets but definitely some lingering desires to have had the opportunity to see them, hear them and connect with them one last time
...and we run out of time.

Throughout these moments in time I've met wonderful & amazing people of course; too many to mention all; Let's try anyway...You know who you are.
-British calendar models and their crew of handlers.
-Team 6 & all the Society members at the Vegas Intensive
-German & Italian lawyers with a pension for adventure and very particular dietary requirements.
-Compostela 157 guys and all the other wonderful people from Cuba; Shout out to Kiki in case he's reading this.
-Too many amazing & talented NewYorkers to count; especially La Esquina crew ;)
-Ensenada Oceanographers, Culinary masters & Rock Climbers
-Tijuana Mural Artists
-Social Justice Advocates (not to be confused with JSW's) dedicated to helping disenfranchised & at risk populations
...Just to name a few.
Most of them I may never see again, some we may stay in touch and a few have grown to become great friends. Overall each has shared something and has given me a glimpse at their world, teaching me a little bit more about myself in the process and creating shared memories that will last a life time.
It has been an interesting 2016

And now, here I am in a place called Lake District near Windermere UK, sleep deprived and cold; ready to board my train towards the airport to catch my flight back home after 10 days taking a Training in NLP with such a diverse and amazing group of people from all over the world.... what the WTF? I mean you know? Yes; Or not? Either is ok; That's Right...The adventure starting all over again! But let's not get ahead of ourselves, these stories belong to 2017 and where just getting started...
Happy New Year 🎊

For all of you who read this far; Thank you for being a part of this with me.

Do you have a 2016 story you'd like to share?
Share in comments :)
...The kid friendly version please ;)

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonconstantsteem! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45