You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 9 Things I’ve Learned From a Year of Van Life

in #adventure7 years ago

I have this dream of having land, but I hate bugs and critters that go bump in the night. Even coyotes can be intimidating. So, I go hiking and come home to our too big, air-conditioned house and all my writing toys. And at night, if things go bump, I check my security cams, motion sensors, door alarms etc. and armed with my police billy bat, bear spray and with my 65 lb. dog at my side, I check things out. Did I mention, the police regularly patrol? So, getting close to nature comes down to walks on the nearby trail

Sort:  

Haha! To each his own right! (;

My mobile phone has this sensor that counts my steps every day, I think my "goal" is 6000 steps per day, and then it links to my medical insurance. I get benefits and discounts if I walk a lot. But there is a difference between like taking the stairs instead of the elevator or walking in nature. Nature does something really positive to your body and mind I think.

I totally agree - anytime I can hike a path rather than walk a street, the choice is easy

Apparently also your mind cannot think certain types of thoughts - like thoughts associated with worry or very technical thoughts when you are walking.

So some people (I think Zuckerberg from FB does this) when he interviews people he goes on walks with them. Harder for them to then just recite lines that they were taught by interview coaches and stuff like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50