Back Acres: Track Wild Turkey in the Woods with Me, We'll Sneak Up on their Hang Out Location

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Lots of Wild Turkey flocks in this area. A few visitors have had to stop their cars in the road to let the Turkeys cross. Turkeys don't migrate. Even with weeks of -30'C overnight temperatures, they still don't fly south. I'm vegetarian this isn't a hunting video. I'll only be shooting them with my Video Camera :)

20180123_124212.jpg

Wild Turkeys forage for Juniper Berries (blue color berries in the above picture). Not For Human Consumption, there only a few edible varieties, one is used in making Gin, but most are Poisonous so probably best not to try to eat them.

poisonivyberries.jpg

Wild Turkeys also forage Poison Ivy Berries (green color berries in the picture above). Definitely People Do Not Eat Poison Ivy Berries, they are Poisonous. People have a wide range of reactions to skin contact with Poison Ivy. It doesn't bother me, I was weed wacking it in my shorts and flip flops this past summer. My buddy had a bad reaction to it though, it spread from his arm and his face puffed up days later. Make sure you are well read up on Poison Ivy if you stomp through the countryside.

Back to Tracking the Wild Turkeys. This is what their tracks look like in the soft snow.

tracks.jpg

The Wild Turkeys are just over this Ridge. Click picture below to watch the video of me sneaking up on the Wild Turkey Hang Out Spot.

They were doing a lot of stomping around here.

turkeyden.jpg

You can see their casual tracks leading up the hill, out of their Hang Out Spot.

hilltracks.jpg

I spotted the Wild Turkeys later that day from a distance, crossing the neighbors corn field. He just harvested those stubbly corn field rows about a month ago to feed the cows. I'm sure the Wild Turkeys like to eat what's left.

I hope you've enjoyed our Wild Turkey Tracking Adventure,

Have a great day :D

Sort:  

So do you use a Turkey Call or just stalk them?

Just stalk them. It's easy because I live in their environment. I often hear them clucking away at the top side of the woods, I hear them sometimes at the bottom of the valley too. I see them and they see me from a distance when I walk my little guy to and from the bus stop. This is cottage country, so there are no gun shots in this valley to keep them away. A couple valleys over you can hear gun shots throughout the year. When I came back from the bus stop in the morning yesterday, I could hear them clucking away at the top of the woods area. The wind was blowing down the valley hill at the time so I went to the bottom of the valley then snuck up to the top of the woods... boo! :D I was all crouched down when I was approaching the ridge lol :)

I really like these photos and the videos :) especially the one with the track on the snow made by the turkey!

Thanks, it's fun once I got to know the look of the different tracks. I'll do some more posts like this one :)

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! This post has been added to the Sotall.org Directory of Self Sufficiency & Survival posts. One of our goals is to provide access to the knowledge of our fellow Steamians, that will still be seen, long after the 7 day period is passed. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jackdub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46