Ending The Summer

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

On Saturday I went to my second country house to celebrate summer ending. This is the event where all the closer relatives come together to send away our Estonian summer by making theatre and getting drunk. This country house is actually my original half childhood home because when I was young, I used to spend most of my summers there. Oh, these good old times when I was playing in a dirt, hanging with cows and most of all waking up with grandmother's breakfast smells in my face. Today all this is over and I only go there once a year, maybe 2 some year.

In this post, I will show you the photos of the place and surrounding areas. There are several different buildings scattered all around the area and huge fields, all owned by my family.

On the first photo, you can see a barn, the former cows home. This is built on the year 1823. Now its full of junk and it's sad that there are no more cows, this memory now lives in my head.
DSC_0421.jpg

I got a whole book of the history of this place, written by my grandmother. I can show you some photos of the old times.
Here you can see cows in the barn.
20180904_221915[1].jpg


DSC_0448.jpg


DSC_0422.jpg


DSC_0452.jpg

This is the main building where people live in. Now it's being rebuilt and taken care of. So many memories live in there.
DSC_0437.jpg


DSC_0419.jpg

Now a couple of photos from the year 1917 at the front of the house for comparison.

20180904_222630[1].jpg


20180904_222551[1].jpg


DSC_0461.jpg

There is also a bee farm. My grandmother used to take care of them and mmm this honey is great the bees produce there. There are still hives in place and bees living in them and even today all the honey I use comes from there.

DSC_0466.jpg

I have always called this building a bee house because there were also many bees in there and many... you know where bees put their honey in. I have no idea how to call this in English.

DSC_0465.jpg

There is many agriculture equipment scattered around the area. People living there through the years have always used the fields to grow crops. I'm not even gonna name them, its so many vegetables farms there.

DSC_0470.jpg

Here you can see my aunt son and his girlfriend posing on an equipment.
DSC_0457.jpg

This is my old shack in the wood I built 12 years ago. I wonder it still up and when you go inside it looks just like I once built it, awesome.

DSC_0420.jpg

There are several more buildings around in the area I didn't take photos of, including a garage, sauna, another barn and one more small living house built in the 1970's.
Now some photos of the farm fields.

DSC_0449.jpg


DSC_0480.jpg


DSC_0495.jpg

The huge boulder stone you can see in the following photo was one of my favorite places I could go in the old times.
When I was young it used to look absolutely huge but today... not so much. It's awesome nevertheless and I decided to walk there. It's about a kilometer walk across the field from the house.

DSC_0474.jpg

I was standing on top of the stone when I took this photo with a view of the farm place. Here you can see one barn on the left. Oldest living house in the center which is now being rebuilt as you see. At the right side of the photo you can see the white newer 1970's living house. The field between used to be a huge potato growing place but today it's just mostly an empty grass field.

DSC_0479.jpg

I also took one long exposure photo in the night.
DSC_0502.jpg

It was so cool to be there again and I cant wait for the next time.

Tell me what you think of this farm




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

I watched your photos without any reading and my first thought was: Latvia. Later I have read: Estonian. Yeah, not so far... And your shack looks like a bunker of forest brothers.

Estonian and Latvian nature is pretty much the same haha. This shack is put together by a great mastermind (means me) that's why it still stands XD

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 124 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99