New Zealand Southisland Eastcoast

in #adventure3 years ago

Dear Steemians

The east coast is so beautifully diverse that one does not get bored. From Lake Pukaki to the Catlins a rough, wild and beautiful landscape.

From Lake Pukaki, in which I took a fast swim in by the way, I continued towards the coast. On the way I stopped at a barrier lake and and made a short hike. The view from up there was but just super.

img_20200312_1147097177712472407770593.jpg

Then I drove on until I arrived at the campsite. I paid there only 10 NZD and could still wash for free. I used the afternoon to wash my car a bit and to charge all my electronic devices and of course to take a shower! The next day I drove then first to Oamaru. A small town with a lot of charm in colonial style.

IMG_20200313_115538.jpg

I treated myself to a delicious cappuchino in a café and walked a little through the streets. After that I went further along the coast, past wonderful beaches. In addition, I visited very briefly the Elephant Rocks, apparently parts of Narnia were filmed.

The Boulders Beach is apparently very famous. I know from other people that you have to go there. So of course I stopped there on my way. I had imagined a beach full of these round stones, but I found only a very small section with these stones. Unfortunately, there were so many people that it was hardly possible to take a photo without other people on it. Too bad. So special I found now this place also again not.

IMG_20200313_141734.jpg

Then it went on to Katiki Point where there is also a lighthouse. There is a protected penguin beach. So I tried my luck several times. First time at about 3 o'clock in the afternoon, I knew that at this time probably no penguins are to be found. They only come out of the water early in the morning or later in the afternoon. I had no luck on my second attempt at 5pm either. So I drove to my campsite about 20 minutes away and decided to go there again the next morning. In the evening I met Ian again, whom I met at the whale watching. We ate something together and drank wine.

IMG_20200313_174038.jpg

The next morning before 7 o'clock I was then awakened with a hot tea, what a service. We drove directly without breakfast to the lighthouse and who believes it or not, it was worth it. We actually saw 10!!! Yellow-eyed penguins! Unfortunately from a very far distance, but still.

IMG_20200316_165309.jpg

Because these penguins are threatened with extinction and there are only a few of them left. Therefore, it is even more amazing that we have seen so many of them. On my way to Dunedin I then stopped somewhere by the sea and ate breakfast. It is wonderful to have your "home" with you. I was recommended to drive through Port Chalmers on the way to Dunedin. The ride was nice, unfortunately a bit cloudy but from high above it looked quite beautiful.

IMG_20200314_112747.jpg

IMG_20200314_113202.jpg

I just drove through the village and along the water and then directly to Baldwin Street. Baldwin Street is supposed to be the steepest street in the world. The was actually relatively steep and it was quite exhausting to run up there.

IMG_20200314_122248.jpg

Dunedin itself I have looked at me only briefly, because at the moment I feel so not in a city mood and just want to be out in nature. A few photos of the city. I decided in the afternoon to go on the Otago Peninsula. A wonderful place where there are actually some great hikes, but the weather was the next day not so good and I decided therefore to continue.

IMG_20200314_155429.jpg

In the evening, however, I was invited by Ian to eat fish & chips and the next early morning we spent looking for penguins on the beach, without success. The Sandfly bay is however a beautiful beach with sand dunes and sea lions.

IMG_20200314_153910.jpg

1150195.jpg

1150183.jpg

Now I was driving further in the direction of the south, in the direction of Catlins..The region was recommended to me by all. I drove everything along the Southren Scenic Route, first stop somewhere in nowhere to drink a coffee.
The road along the coast is just a dream.

IMG_20200315_120543.jpg

Then it went to Nugget Point. I honestly imagined something more imposing, but well beautiful it was anyway. Just the eternal wind is here everywhere really a bit annoying.

IMG_20200315_142534.jpg

IMG_20200315_143144.jpg

The night I spent on a DOC campground, which are the state campgrounds. I paid 8 NZD and got this view from the van.

IMG_20200315_192106.jpg

The weather was quite ok, but this changed in the night to the next day and after a beautiful sunrise it rained non-stop. T

IMG_20200316_070105.jpg

Do you wanna read more of my adventures in english?
xoxo Val

Sort:  

Very beautiful places...please check my blog..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60359.24
ETH 3303.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39