EXTREME JOGGING - Stellenbosch Mountain AdventuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #adventure7 years ago

This morning I decided to take an alternative route up Stellenbosch Mountain. I climbed to the abandoned hut on my standard routes and then decided to go straight up the fire path recently created. It was tough going, but in only 2.7km from my house I reached the first beacon. I took a photo or two and then headed down the normal hiking route on a chilled trot. What a beautiful morning to be in the mountains!

Selfie on the summit.

IMG_4633.JPG

Looking down to Simonsberg and Botmaskop on the right.

IMG_4638.JPG

View over the sports fields towards Jonkershoek... the guys were trying to play Ultimate (frisby) down there in a strong South Easter - not smart.

IMG_4611.JPG

Clouds flowing down the mountain.

IMG_4612.JPG

The abandoned hut... on its side it says in Afrikaans "Die Here se dice val anders" direct translation: "God's dice falls differently"

IMG_4615.JPG

Looking down at the fire hut I came up with... fairly steep.

IMG_4620.JPG

Contour single track.

IMG_4622.JPG

Looking down at the beautiful Cape Winelands.

IMG_4634.JPG

Summer is coming... also got my first snake of spring.

IMG_4639.JPG

My route map on Google Maps.

1.png

And the altitude map showing my climb.

2.png

Follow me @extremejogging if you enjoyed this adventure... many more extreme jogs to come!

Sort:  

views are just stunning! clouds crawling on the ground... nice! but snake! oh, makes me shudder :D

Thanks, luckily that snake was small.

it is not big, still compare to those i saw (not in a zoo) it has a reasonable size and it's black, looks poisonous... how big was a snake you ever met? (in real life, not in terrarium)

The snake was about 800mm. ;)

Inspired jogging story, thank for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42