Czech Girl Explores Alaska: 10 Must-See Travel Destinations

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

We have been talking about going to Alaska as long as we are together but it was too expensive to go there from the Czech Republic. And then, one year and a half ago, we decided to apply for Working Holiday Visa in Canada. We got it, and over the past five months, we were able to save enough money to travel for three months. At first, we went to Hawaii for two weeks and then we drove up to Alaska, where we spent another couple of weeks. 

It was the really long drive to Alaska. It took us about three days of non-stop driving to get there from Calgary, and we had to do a lot of driving there as well but every single second driving up there was worth it. I tried to compile the best places we have visited, and I hope you will like it.


1) Ice Harding Trail

It should be the hike for at least 6 to 8 hours, but we managed to do it in 4,5. I think it was because of our excitement I literally ran up the trail. We stayed in Seward for four days waiting for a good weather to hike it up. For three days everything was covered with clouds. I am glad that we stayed. On our 4th day, we got a perfect weather! It was the most beautiful hike I have ever done in my life. 

If you want to see something spectacular Watch Epic Footage of Ice Harding Icefield From Drone 


2) Kayaking in Kenai Fjord National Park and Seward

The most expensive 5 hours but definitely worth it. We are traveling on a budget so when it came to paying 430 each to go for a kayaking to Bear’s Glacier we were deciding to the last minute. There was no other way to experience it since we didn’t have our own kayak and it was very hard to get water taxi without agency anyway. We decided to go. It starts at beautiful town Seward where you board water taxi which will take you to Bear's glacier. We saw lots of humpbacks and puffins on our way there, and during kayaking, we enjoyed paddling between icebergs. We observed very closely sea stars as we arrived during low tide and we were lucky to spot some sea lions as well. 


3) Portage Glacier Trail

Easy 3 hours hike to Portage Glacier is rewarding even though you have to suffer lots of bugs. You can get close to the glacier and enjoy beautiful turquoise colors of its ice and take some awesome pictures of icebergs floating on the lake.


4) Whittier

Our guide (Lonely Planet) was saying that this town is weird and that there is always worst weather in Kenai Peninsula. We didn’t find it weird at all. We enjoyed our time there as we were almost the only ones there. 

 5) Hatcher Pass

Hatcher Pass is a hidden gem on the way from Denali National Park to Anchorage. It is an old gold mine from the 40s now turned into a museum. The place is magical as it looks like you are in Norway. 


6) Denali National Park

Denali with its highest peak of North America is huge, and you cant travel there by yourself. The only way to go further is to book a bus. We decided to hike on the beginning from the visitor center. Tripple Lakes Trail is a beautiful hike that will take you to the ridge with lots of wildflowers and an outstanding view of surrounding mountains. 


7) Haines

I’ve seen so many turquoise lakes and rivers but nothing like this. The turquoise color of the water in Haines will blow your mind. I couldn’t believe my eyes. There is also beautiful hike you can do from there to get even better view. 


8) Valdez

Small, turquoise and lovely. That’s what I thought from our short stop in Valdez. We didn’t have much time to explore it better, but there is nothing better than a great walk in a port. 


9) Homer

Artsy town of Kenai Peninsula. You might get surprised that there are no mountains and that Homer is totally flat when just one hour ago you were enjoying beautiful mountains of Kenai Peninsula. We visited all local galleries, farm market and then we went to famous Spit "a skinny tongue of sand licking halfway across Kachemak Bay". 

10) City of Kenai

Our guide (Lonely Planet) wasn’t describing this place as the best stop. We were tired on our way to Homer. Therefore, we decided to stop and discover this city. We went to the beach, and I can say this was my biggest experience from Alaska. We watched people fish Salmons - the were standing in the water and waiting. Hundreds of them fishing on one small beach with free volcanos in the background. Amazing. Just amazing. 


All pictures were taken by me or my beloved @lukaskonecny 

If you liked my article, have a look at These 15 places in Western Canada will blow your mind: https://steemit.com/travel/@endijka/these-10-places-in-western-canada-will-blow-your-mind

Sort:  

Great article @endijka , like always.. Thumbs up..:)

Thank you Victor, glad you like it :-)

Tak jako vždy nádhera! Díky za fotky.

Děkuji :-)

I am really in love with your pictures! Especially because I am your occasional model :-P

I upvote and follow you

Looks like you had a lot of fun! I live there and haven't done some of the things you did haha

Dont worry, I feel like that about my contry all the time when people are telling me about places I didnt know they even exist. Haha.

This post deserves more upvotes.

Great pictures and good write up! Resteemed!

Hi again, Thank you for your kind words and for your time reading my blog even though I am newbie and I am still learning. I really love the way you write so I am really grateful.
With love,
Lucie

Man.. this makes me want to pack my bags right now and leave for Alaska.
Thank you for these pictures. :)

Do it. You will not regret. I would recommend​ the cruise. Driving up there was a little bit too much...

Cruise from where though?

An excellent and colorful travel post. It looked like a fun adventure! Upvoted.

Great pics, Alaska is so beautiful - I love it there! I am lucky, my brother lives in Anchorage so I always have a place to stay. :D

Thank you. Lucky you! :-)

Great trip, perfect photo! :) Máte nějaké české stránky?

Ano. :) www.loudavymkrokem.cz tento příspěvek teprve ale překládám do čj. Dám jej snad zítra. Loudavým krokem máme k stránku na FB

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61