#Travel - How I Climb The Highest Pick of Africa - Kilimanjaro

in #adventure6 years ago

Almost adventurous human being may want to climb the highest mountain of Africa.


That is Kilimanjaro


climb the highest mountain of Africa

 

I suffered asthma since young. I believe this was due to lack of nutrients as I was growing up.

Climbing Kilimanjaro for me would motivate many people to do more beyond their capabilities. It is why I did climb Kilimanjaro for the purpose of.. If others can, I can do it too.

This adventure happens back in 2016. I like to share it with you how tough it was for everyone Climbing the highest mountain of Africa - Kilimanjaro.

Before I began, let me share some information about Kilimanjaro.


Mount Kilimanjaro, with its three volcanic cones, "Kibo", "Mawenzi", and "Shira", is a dormant volcano in Tanzania.

This is the highest mountain in Africa, and it rises approximately 4,900 meters from its base to 5,895 metres above sea level.
To Be Exact:

Elevation: 5,895 m

Prominence: 5,885 m

First ascent: 1889

Mountain range: Eastern Rift mountains

Easiest route: Hiking

It was first ascend by : Ludwig Purtscheller and Hans Meyer

We sometimes under estimate the mountain, It was a little for me. Perhaps, I am so egoistic, my attitude of "I can" almost kill me when I was climbing Kilimanjaro.


Many people fit or unfit. They have purpose why climbing Kilimanjaro.

But to me, I want to prove that an Ashmatic person can do what they want and fight for this Ashamatic problem.

My experience was never easy. My hubby and I took the Rongai Route where they said it's not as stiff as Machame route.



Rongai indeed very scenic route but not an easy one. We had 7 days travel days in total.

Each day, we go and walk long hours from one base camp to another until we reach to Kibo Hut where the final campsite prior to Climbing the Uhuru Pick- the highest point of Kilimanjaro.

Kilimanjaro is not a mountain, it is a park. the mountain you will see is Mawenzi and Kibo. Before you can reach to Uhuru pick either you submit first to Gilman's point or Estella point.

Our climb in Rongai route did pass this point.

From Kibo hut, we start at 12 Midnight, we walk all the way up to a never, never seems to end stiff, rocky and stony, gravels mountain for long hours. Pole Pole- slow slow is the term our guide told us all the time.

We cannot walk fast as we and many other climbers that night were breathless. Breathless and so cold night.

So windy and minus 20 degree cold. Super cold and super long nite as I could Imagine.

Arrived at Uhuru pick 9:13 am on 16 of September 2016 from Kibo hut, trying to breath and breath.

Headache start to aches. Vomiting, etc. A mix feelings. Breathless, my water got frozen, could not drink, even it was prevented from getting frozen and it's still is.

I took Diamox to prevent me from geting Altitude sickness, I do not recommend- it just gave a lot of side effects. Before the day of climb, I was already breathless.

Tingling on both fingers and feet. So like a drug addict.

The best thing you do is to prepare yourself healthy much ahead before the climb.

(Prepare yourself... Prepare your body to be healthy as possible as you can be prior in climbing Kilimanjaro).

As we descend from the pick,


We were cruising the sandy and stoney path dust all over until your nose bleed from sneezing.

Bring yourself a super warm sleeping bag.

DO NOT rent from your agency. It's not warm enough. Trekking Hero agency however are very helpful.

The people in Africa are all great really.
climbing Kilimanjaro
At the pick of climbing Kilimanjaro From my left, is Juma the guide, next to me is Markus and Gregory is next to Markus

If you do climb Kilimanjaro and you make it to the top.. Please come back to me and share with me your Journey.

My youtube ( https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCky5varhC3PdITfCco7iWbA) channel is Elvie Lins

Make love and not war😊

Connect with us on

#TEAMSINGAPORE
https://discord.gg/VuBpfVW

#steemcreators
https://discord.gg/AhYCagA

#steembasicincome
sponsor me if you like and I can sponsor you back: https://discord.gg/8mTS4EU

#Earthnation
https://discord.gg/Rdsx9jh

HERE IS MY FREE GIFT TO YOU.


DOWNLOAD THIS BODY COMBAT BASIC VIDEO

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jd11sjxvr0a6pt1/The%20Basic.mkv?dl=0

DOWNLOAD THE EXTREME BODY COMBAT WORKOUT - this you can do from home.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7lf4t4qqwc71rgw/Combat%2060%20Live%20~%20Ultimate%20Warrior%27s%20Workout.mkv?dl=0

love..@elvielins

 

Find best deals on Flights and Hotels at



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://elvielins.com/2018/06/14/travel-how-i-climb-the-highest-pick-of-africa-kilimanjaro/
Sort:  

You just prove that people can pursue their dreams and that we can overcome our limits. Nobody can tell us "you,can't do this, you can't do that", only ourselves know ourselves best.

Your situation is quite similar with my nephew, he was also asthmatic but he loves sports, now he has joined JKA(Karate) and his health is improving. Thanks for sharing :)

@jnygotaku, exactly, we never know until we do it. therefor we shall never ever give up.

I am happy for your nephew. Is he on steemit? 😊

Sorry, no he's not. Thanks though :)

I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Wow, great faith not every asthmatic person can embark on this adventurous journey congratulations

Thank you @chrizflex, have you done any adventure stuff like this yet? Please share.. When I was in Africa, I also went to safari tour. It was so amazing. I will be sharing some footage soon.

You got a 8.61% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @elvielins!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Wow its so wonderful ! and then you are so great !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72