An island...with samurai, anime, sushi, and stunning beauty.

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

It wasn't my first time. I'd walked this land before. Go back? What could hold my interest when I'd seen it before?

Some would argue that if you're going to travel, you should spend your money and explore a new country... see new things.

I was tempted but I had to go back just one more time.

0219_152.jpg

Stepping off the airplane in Tokyo, we were met with snow - I wouldn't call it a blizzard but it was coming down hard. Lugging our suitcases we set out to find the apartment we rented in Ningyocho (also called "Doll Town"). Though not the best weather, I was thrilled to return and this was my first time seeing the capital.

Quickly we became wet and lost. We stopped in a Family Mart convenience store and attempted to ask for directions. Unfortunately, English was not a skill the cashier had on his resume. We continued on down the street hoping to stumble upon our place of rest.

We rounded a corner but heard running footsteps advancing toward us from behind. If this were any other country, I might be concerned. A man dressed in a suit, carrying a briefcase and umbrella greeted us with a slight bow. He had overheard us ask for directions in the Family Mart and offered to help us find our way.

He didn't give us directions. He walked us to straight to where we needed to go, even though it appeared he had just finished a long day of work. What a welcome! One of the many reasons why I love Japan - It's peaceful and polite people. Not to mention it's vibrant and quirky culture.

0219_19.jpg

Our adventure continued for two more weeks ranging from the majestic Mount Fuji to Owl Cafes in Akihabara and feeding monkeys in Arashiyama. Today isn't the day to share those stories though. For now, here are some assorted pics from Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Nara, and Yamanakako:

0219_4.jpg

0219_237.jpg

0219_239.jpg

0219_263.jpg

0219_361.jpg

0219_6.jpg

Sort:  

Looking forward to your posts on the places you been to.

Stay tuned :D. Followed you for some ideas for the next time I go there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61