Goodbye to My First Real Job

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

43B8D95E-D10F-4D08-B9D9-49FBCFD498CC.JPG

In August 2015, I had the amazing opportunity to be hired by a wonderful airline that became very dear to my heart.

93BE0163-B2AA-4663-BC5D-E22AB21737FC.JPG

I became a flight attendant! I remember praying on a couch in my mom's room, begging a higher power to give me this opportunity. At the time, I was depressed over a bad breakup, and I desperately wanted to fly away. How ironic was it to get paid to fly away and leave everything behind? At the time, that's all I ever wanted.
IMG_2159.JPG

I wasn't expecting how intense the training was going to be. This job really isn't for you if you aren't ready to serve other people. I also wasn't expecting to learn how to fight fires, fight sharks, and learning to save lives by identifying acetone breath. But what I wasn't really expecting was the lifelong friendships I ended up building with my peers.

3EA2EE7B-C913-42B3-BE10-B2EE1F8F8646.JPG

I'm so thankful for the opportunities to see places I've never dreamed of going. I'm also thankful for the wisdom I received while sitting on the jumpseat next to people who lived life longer than me. I'm eternally grateful for the people I meet on the plane who share their stories with me.

IMG_2271.JPG

I feel like a chapter in my life is closing, and while that makes me sad, it has made me realize the love I have for aviation and for the people who dedicate their lives to transporting, and serving.

IMG_2371.JPG

Thinking back on the memories I was able to make and all the laughs I got, I can't help but shed a tear. I would like to say Thank you to the company who gave me a chance at 20 to do something new. Thank you to the company who exposed me to people and places I'm so grateful to meet. And most of all, thank you to the company who planted a seed of adventure in my heart. I'm sad to go but happy I got the chance to serve.

IMG_2048.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53