DTube - Ice Climbing on a Glacier in New Zealand

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

As I was hitchhiking down the west coast of New Zealand, I decided to stop at Fox Glacier, one of the country's most popular glaciers for outdoor enthusiasts. I found out that they offer ice climbing lessons for beginners. This was awesome for me because I was interested in ice climbing before but didn't think it'd be easy to start learning it. They make it easy at Fox Glacier.

WallsofIce ss.jpg

Click the photo above to view video ^^^^^

The ice climbing tour included a helicopter ride up to the glacier. My first helicopter ride! It was awesome.

After we hooked the crampons on our feet and were given ice axes, we hiked on the glacier until we got to a wall we could climb. We were given a pretty short lesson on form and technique and safety features. I learned that it isn't hard to do this sport. It was super fun wielding the ice axes and climbing up ice walls.

At the end of the day, i got lowered into an ice hole and climbed my way out of it. I also got lowered into a giant crevasse that I had to climb out of too.

vlcsnap-2018-01-26-19h17m42s217.png

It was the experience of a lifetime and I can't wait to do it again.

Would you try ice climbing? Tell me in the comments.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh, wow! What an extraordinarily cool experience! Thanks a lot for taking us with you :-) My heart skipped a beat when that left pick didn't want to enter the ice, haha! That's been a real adventure both for you and for us. Cool!

Upvoted, resteeemd to my 5K followers on Steemit and following you for more. I think that's my 100% :-)

Oh, wow. Thanks for your kind words and your support, Marly. I truly appreciate it. Following you too.

You are more than welcome! I'm glad your post took off and provided you with a decent amount of Steem. Totally deserved! :-)

looks awsome and dangerous

It was pretty safe with the ropes, but yes there is some danger to it.

always wanted to try iceclimbing in a glacier. or ice climbing at all. Haven't had a chance to try that one yet. great video.

Now you know how easy and fun it can be.

Great, I would like to try Ice climbing.

I hope you get to someday

I hope so too, thank you

Wow. I didn't think it is an easy to start learning.
But now i know it's really easy..Thanks for video.
But i didn't think i have to go there.Because, danger comes from anywhere anytime there. Ha Ha Ha!!!!!

It's actually easy if you follow the instructor's advice.

Would love to try it! I do some bouldering myself, but that's no where near ice climbing ;)

Bouldering is harder than ice climbing. It takes a lot more strength, which i don't have a lot of, haha.

amazing photos!

Thanks, Serena

i love country when will my dream come true

It is about making you think from a different perspective..
Excellent post good analyses thanks for sharing.

Ah yiss. Looks like fun. Haven't done it on a glacier though. Most of our iceclimbing is up waterfalls. I recently put up some ice climbing pics.

I saw. They looked awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41