The Modern Pocketknife

in #adventure7 years ago

thanh-tran-342855.jpg

So my original intent was the discuss the everyday importance of carrying a pocket knife. However, in doing research for the post, I began to become intrigued by the history of the modern pocket knife. So because of the fascination, thank you mind for taking over, I'm here to give a quick history lesson on the modern day pocket knives and why I find them so interesting.

Here goes...

As the years have passed, almost thirty of them now to be exact, one of the most defining memories I have with my father is him reaching into his pocket and pulling out his red or blue Swiss Army Knife. Man, that thing was a jack of all trades, wasn't it? If you are able to recall, it had a screwdriver (both flat and phillips), scissors, two sized blades, and a toothpick. It continually astounded me how he always seemed to have one on hand, and this was something that, in my eyes, stood out as a fatherly requirement.

I've always found the pocket knife to be a very interesting concept, haven't you? A tool that we consider part of our every day carry, or commonly referred to as EDC (future posts to discuss EDC), and has many different uses; from opening that pesky tape on packages, using as an impromptu screwdriver, cutting rope, starting a campfire, to used as a safety device only when needed. Something to greatly understand is that today, the common pocket knife is produced solely for the purpose of functional use, and not to cause serious harm.

Now, while there are many different types of pocket knives in circulation these days, I'm going to focus my attention on the two types that we see more commonly than any others. Those are the jackknife, or plain old 'folder', and the friction folder. Let's take our walk through history with both of these styles! Shall we?!

What is the Jackknife?

The jackknife, or also known as the folder knife, is one that is of two to six inches in length and has the ability to collapse on itself in a safe fashion.

The jackknife is said to have come into existence sometime around 600 to 500 BCE, and is assumed that the state of the knife in this era was extremely primitive. It wasn't truly until the rise of the Roman Empire that we begin to see more of a modern-day style of the jackknife, due to technological advances and blacksmith mastery.

What is the Friction Folder?

The friction folder is one that varies in length, and whose blade is held in place by the individual wielding the blade. This is made possible by the extended tang from the base of the blade itself.

In fact, archaeological digs have discovered tools that are commonly known as 'friction folders'. Digs have led to discovering these types of knives being in existence as early as 43 BCE, and made from materials such as copper, iron, and steel.

What do I typically carry?

I myself, have 2 different types of pocket knives that I commonly carry, both being your standard folder. One serves as my standard functional use knife, while the other I keep stashed in my car for emergency purposes.

The standard functional use one is a wood and metal combination handle with a 2.5" blade. This one not only serves a functional purpose but also has great sentimental value to me as it was a gift from my twin brother.

The emergency knife is a standard issued EMT one. It has a window punch attachment, seat belt cutter, and is accompanied with a 2.5" blade. I highly recommend these and I believe I bought it on Amazon for $8, so I ended up buying two. I highly recommend picking up a couple of them for anyone to keep in the car!

Thanks for tuning in, and that is your Daily Dose of Dapperness!


About Me

Hi, my name is Blake. I'm a true fan of the 1950's style gentleman, a father, adventurer, and all around Curious George!

Connect with me on social:

YouTube | Instagram | Twitter

Be Sure to Check Out the Site:

Dapper Dad Club

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading your post. Who knew pocket knives would an interesting topic? :) Following for future posts of yours. Thanks for linking back to Steemit on your personal website :)

Thanks for reading @geekgirl! I'm glad you enjoyed the topic and visited the site! Followed back!

Unique content and voice @dapperdadclub. Keep it up. I have no idea why i read it i just do. Shaving is never going to be the same again! :)

Thanks for the read @whitesj40, and very glad to hear you like the content!

They have that perfect blend of technology and craftsmanship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29