A COMMON APPROACH IN GOA AND HOW TO GET AROUND

in #adventure7 years ago

Two indian woman with jewelry and towels coming towards me

I am shaking my head, concentrating on my phone.

Women : Hey, how are you? Fine?

Me: Yes

Women: You are very thin. You look very young….blabla how old are u…u look like 17.

Do you have a sister? How old is she? Do you have brothers? How old? When are you leaving. Where are you staying? Do you have mother and father? Does your sister have a boyfriend? Is she married? Do you have a boyfriend? Where is he? You have many hair(legs), u like it?

I made up a little story regarding to my boyfriend and my stay here, that’s most of the time the best way to handle with this.

After some time the typical part was following…:

Whats your name? – Dana

I am Monica. My mums name is Dana as well.
I am 31 years old like your sister and have two children and that's (pointing towards her colleague) Maja (cant remember the name) she has 2 children and is 25.

"You can look at this (bracelet)" - "I am not wearing any jewellery."

"Just look and u will like it, take it as present for your sister." - "No, I don't see her, she is in another country."

"Oh no see? Then buy a blanket." - " I don't need and I don't have any money here with me.
Don't worry, u can pay me later." - "No, sorry. I dont need."

"Then I massage you (starting to massage my leg)."

I jumped up and went away, just experienced how close the seller can get just to makeIMG_20170327_150727.jpg you buy something.

Of course not every indian is like this, not even every seller, just one story shared that most of the tourists and even indians know :)

Sort:  

Great! When my American husband was in China, since most of Chinese have never seen any foreigners in reality, some of them even took his photo directly, he became very angry and ran away.

Hahaha :D
Yeah there are some situations where it's just too much if you are not prepared.

But next time there will not be the anger hopefully ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dana20 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I am Monica. My mums name is Dana as well.

Quite funny - I have never ever met anyone with name and Indian origin ;-) Congratulations!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69