Day 7 (take 2...ok I screwed up!): 1200 mile walk from Cornwall to Caithness, UKsteemCreated with Sketch.

So I've tripped myself up a bit in the retelling of this story. Day 7 take 1, posted yesterday was unnecessarily brief. Whilst trekking I blogged day 7 twice, once with a quick note to let family and friends know I was well, and a second time with a proper account of the day, presumably the morning after. I suspect it was either a lack of energy or a lack of phone signal or both, that made me leave it to the next day.

The picture today is of the inside of the camping barn which I had all to myself for the princely sum of £5. In fact the owner was kind enough to ask me to donate it to the children's hospice that I was raising money for. Meeting so many generous people was one of the great rewards of this journey. Anyhow here is the proper telling of day 7:

Day7.jpg

Friday, 14 May 2010

So Ive been a little slow getting round to posting day sevens news and I'll hope you will forgive me as I've been quite busy. Day seven really was all about putting in the miles. I started walking at 9.30 in the morning from Torrington after a delicious and large cooked breakfast at the B&B and didn't stop until South Molton some 15 miles down the road for lunch. A stop in a nice little cafe and two cups of tea and a slice of lemon cake later I was straight back on the road with my sights set on Dulverton still some 15 miles ahead. I remember I stopped at South Molton at around 2pm and I'd booked accommodation at a 'camping barn' in Dulverton saying I'd arrive around half past nine. The afternoon was harder, my feet were starting to feel like steaks that had spent too long under the tenderising mallet, my knees were sore and so were my shoulders and hips. The weather was however being kind and just keeping up a light drizzle that was cooling but not wetting enough for me to put my waterproofs on. After just one stop in the afternoon to recuperate some energy, each a chocolate bar and some nuts, and take my boots off for a few minutes, I arrived in Dulverton at about eight o'clock. Not wanting to cook noodles again on my stove I headed straight to the fish and chip shop for battered sausage chips and curry sauce (was this still on my mind since Bude??). It was delicious and refuelling! The camping barn (pictured) was wonderful, sleeps 25 but I had it all to myself as the group booking for that night had cancelled a few days previous. The owner kindly asked me to donate the five pound fee to the charity fund. The barn was one of two and the other was occupied by a group of guys from Cornwall around the Dawlish area; hi to Mark and everyone and thank you for the Spaghetti Bolognese and the Bacon Sandwich, both of which were delicious and much appreciated!!

Daily stats

Start - Torrington
Finish - Dulverston
Mileage - 29 miles/46km
Feeling - sore
Sleeping - Camping Barn

Day7Map.jpg

if you want to see the original blog it is here but I rather hope you choose to follow me instead. Thanks Steemians!

Sort:  

I like the reference to over tenderized steak feet...after 7 days of walking!! no kidding , nice sleeping arrangements tho, I would be ok with living in that barn.

Cheers ladybug :) yeah the accommodation was a bit swish for £5!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64