Day 25: 1200 mile walk from Cornwall to Caithness, UKsteemCreated with Sketch.

Wednesday 2nd June 2010

I left the Youth Hostel in Earby at a reasonably punctual 8.30 and headed for the recommended cafe in town. Having had only beans on toast, chocolate and fruit for supper the night before a little breakfast treat was definately in order. My walking schedule now is being dictated by the need to be at a train station by Friday morning to journey down to London for the weekend for my very good friend Damians stag do. This meant Wednesday and Thursday were going to be easy days with only 16 and 12 miles respectively to cover. After a very satisfying breakfast I set off for Malham; I'd heard that there was a shop selling walking boots there and if I made it there early enough might be able to get rid of this horrible pair of torture
impliments that are currently gracing my feet. The walking was easy going and all at a low level, along the Leeds and Liverpool canal, following valley bottoms and just a few gentle ascents up the valley sides. I made Malham by half past three to find the Malham safari in full swing and the village packed with hundreds of visitors.

Each year model animals are put on display all around the village and it looks like a great event for young families. Sadly the outdoor clothing store was just a small part of a larger cafe and gift store and they stocked very few boots all of the same make that I had now come to hate! I will persevere with the current ones until I find a decent store and have been getting boot recommendations from everyone I meet in the mean time.

I spent the evening under canvas in Malham and looking obviously in need of some company and beer at the campsite was taken pity on by the lovely Mariah and Alanah and had a very nice evening chatting till it was too cold and dark to carry on. Coincidentally Alanah was already planning her own Lands End to John O'Groats trek!

Day25Bridge.jpg
Funky 2 storey bridge on the Leeds and Liverpool canal

Daily stats:

Start - Earby
Finish - Malham
Mileage - 13 miles / 21 km
Feeling - In good company
Sleeping - Earby campsite

That's all folks ;-)

Day25map.jpg

This trek took place in 2010 before the wonderfulness of STEEM existed. I was trekking in aid of Naomi House Children's Hospice in Hampshire, England, and writing and posting the blog from my iPhone 3gs (so if you're wondering why the photo's aren't that good...) if you want to see the original blog it is here but I rather hope you choose to follow me instead. Thanks Steemians!

Sort:  

I've just discovered this journey. Really Interesting! I'm going to begin reading from the beginning!

Hope you enjoy my tales!

That is one cool looking bridge, do you think it was made like that from the beginning or was it added later on?

I don't know... often wondered but never found out. Maybe the builder read the architect plans wrong the first time :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64