Day 22: 1200 mile walk from Cornwall to Caithness, UKsteemCreated with Sketch.


top left; detailed route of day 22. Top right; faithful old but now soggy boots retiring to the dustbin. Bottom left; splendid new boots 100% waterproof (according to the salesman). Bottom right; Day 22 route in context.

Sunday, 30 May 2010

The weather has been much kinder today with sunshine and clouds and no rain but very strong and chilly winds. The terrain was much the same today as yesterday but looks so much more beautiful in the sunshine. Today's picture is of a small stream flowing in one of the many small gully's I travelled through which just struck me as particularly beautiful. I crossed from Crowden to Marsden on the Pennines Way and arrived in Marsden about 2 pm. I had time to do something about the leaky footwear! A quick bus in to Huddersfield and a trip to Outdoor World later and I am adorned with the latest in shoe technology complete with nano something or other that stops the water getting in... Ahhh they are so comfortable and lightweight! I just hope they continue to be when I've done a few miles in them; I'll let you know tomorrow...

Daily stats:

Start - Crowden
Finish - Marsden
Mileage - 10.5 miles/17km

That's all folks ;-)

This trek took place in 2010 before the wonderfulness of STEEM existed. I was trekking in aid of Naomi House Children's Hospice in Hampshire, England, and writing and posting the blog from my iPhone 3gs (so if you're wondering why the photo's aren't that good...) if you want to see the original blog it is here but I rather hope you choose to follow me instead. Thanks Steemians!

Sort:  

Ahhh can't wait to find out if the shoes stood up to the challenge or not!

You'll have to wait for the next exciting instalment! :D

The suspense is killing me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71