You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Panopticon, the Concept and the Implementation

in #adventure6 years ago

The word panoptical or Panopticon derives from Greek and is the sum of three components of that language:
• "Pan", which can be translated as "everything".
• The noun "opsis", which is equivalent to "sight".
• The suffix "-tikos", which is used to indicate "relative to".
Putting together all the components would be like: "relative to seeing everything". This word was created by the designer of this type of architecture: Jeremy Bentham (that although you do not believe he was a philosopher)
By the way, I have seen this concept also in manufacturing plants, where the supervisor is located in an office in the upper and middle part of the plant to visualize all the workers; that is to say, the concept devised by Bentham has also been used in other sectors, not only in the prisons.

This photo allows you to appreciate the cross shape that you refer to in the post respect to panopticon of Ibagué .

This would be the other type of panoptic design considering the circular shape, which seems to me more effective, under the conception on which it was designed:

About 13 years ago I was in Ibaguè and I never imagined that there was a jail or structure of this type.
Very good information @nameless-berk...Greetings.

Sort:  

I love your additions to my posts, man. How did you like Ibaguè? I got an impression there is not much to do there.

I was visiting a cement production company ("Cementos Diamante" at that time, I believe that it was later bought by a transnational group) and I worked for a company that sold them paper sacks to pack the cement. But really it was not much what I saw because we spent almost all the time in the factory and were short visits of one or two days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45