Alice Cooper Adventure with Fidget Spinners at The Cloverdale Flea Market

in #adventure7 years ago

Today was a beautiful sunny day outside, so my youngest son and I walked to The Cloverdale Flea Market.

The market happens every Sunday as sellers start lining up for a coveted table outside at 4 am for a 6 am start. There were tons of customers buying all kinds of stuff from plants, to clothing to guitars, and enjoying walking around in the sunshine for the $1.50 admission.

When we got too broasted from the sun, we went into The Mackay Building to cool off inside. The market is located on The Cloverdale fairgrounds and has two large buildings of vendors, a concession, washrooms, food trucks, buskers, and a hose on a wall that mists cool water out.

fidget spinner 004.JPG

Fidget spinners are the new beyblades

My son asked me if I had ever tried a fidget spinner. When I said no he said you have to try one as it feels so cool to spin one. All I knew was that fidget spinners were the bane of adult's existence because kids love playing with them so much they won't put them down. In the 2000's my kids played with similar toys called beyblades. Does anyone remember those?

fidget spinner 011.JPG

Paul and Susan were behind the table and they showed me the fidget spinners. I called on my inner child who is always nearby, and started spinning one.

It was weightier than I thought it would be and felt like a little fan moving in my hand. It had a surprisingly calming and balancing effect on me. You'll have to ask some kids if you can join in the fun when they're playing with them. Okay, I actually want to have one of these for my desk so I can rest my eyes from the computer and zone out with some fun for a few minutes.

There are so many things for sale and such a mixed bag, you never know what (or who) you will find there.

Welcome to my nightmare

We learned that an easy way to make conversation with people is to wear an Alice Cooper shirt.

Of course one of the vendors had an Alice Cooper story for him. The man said more than 20 years before you were born, In 1975 Alice Cooper's boa constrictor got confiscated at the border while entering Canada to do his Vancouver show. He said he was writing lyrics for S. Feldman's agency at that time and someone knew he had a pet boa, so they asked him to lend it to Alice. He got a backstage pass to give the snake to the shock rocker before the show.

Alice also had a bad fall at that concert. Here's a link http://ultimateclassicrock.com/alice-cooper-falls-off-stage/

Easy summer meal

fidget spinner 001.JPG

After all the fun and finds, which included a bugs bunny nightshirt for me and a Nascar racing jacket for him, we walked home for a cool summer meal made by chopping up seasonal cold veggies and berries from the fridge and tossing them with feta cheese. Like a Greek berry salad with kitchen garden herb and lettuce garnishes.

What a great finish to our Sunday adventure!

pictures and youtube videos by Ann Hoy

Sort:  

haha everything I love....Ann Hoy, rock stories, outdoor shopping and salad, all in one post!

Haha, thanks Michele!

That salad sure sounds like a great way to complete an awesome day! I'm a flea market junkie haha :)

You must love all the beautiful vintage finds from another era, like the ones so nicely photographed in your posts!
Thanks for that!

I do so much! All those pics are from my home, I collect and hoard old treasures that are new to me haha ☺️

You show them love and make them beautiful too!

Aww me and my lil old things haha :)

Thank you for your purchase!

Love this! Made my day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51