Journey to The New WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

I was born in England in 1948
I was eight years old when my father left for Canada in 1956. He went ahead of us to make some money and to arrange things for when we arrived. I didn't mind as I was home with my mother and three other brothers. My oldest brother had signed up with the RAF and he stayed behind. To me it meant that if I did something wrong I would not get a "good hiding" (spanking) from my father, so that was comforting to me, as my father was a big man and had huge hands that really hurt my bare bottom!

Sixteen months later in November 1957, we were ready to leave. I was nine years old at the time. I remember my grandmother and grandfather at the airport before we boarded the plane (a four engine DC-7B propeller job). I remember I had a lump in my throat as we were saying our goodbyes.
I was sad about leaving them, my oldest brother and our black cat Lucky, behind.

dc7.jpg
DC-7B

We flew to Prestwick airport in Scotland and I remember we got off and had something to eat. I had turtle soup for the first and last time and then we took off across the Atlantic.
It was a ten hour flight across the ocean and we landed in Gander, Newfoundland where we stopped and refueled and headed to Montreal, Quebec. We got off the plane and went through customs there.
I remember I saw about two inches of snow on the ground and I was truly amazed by it. It was only the second time I had seen snow and it was the most snow I had ever seen.

Once through customs we again boarded a plane to Edmonton, Alberta. We were to stay overnight at the Airport Hotel.
Mum looked outside and saw the hotel about a mile away in the distance and decided we could walk over to it.
Carrying everything we owned in four big suitcases we set off. It was cold! The temperature was near -30F and there was about 3 feet of snow. We made a beeline for it. We had to climb over barbed wire fences and across fields through the snow. My Mum and brother Joseph, who was 14 at the time, broke trail through the snow with each of us hauling these massive suitcases. We finally made it after 45 minutes to an hour later and we were all frozen popsicles!

We stayed overnight and then caught another plane to Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. This time we got a ride to the airport!

It was sometime about November 20 -21st. 1957 when we finally arrived in Yellowknife. Dad met us and we were all happy to see each other! We stayed in Yellowknife for a couple of days. It was about -32F and I was amazed at how cold it was and at the amount of snow on the ground. We went for a walk the next day and I saw this guy walking along the street with no coat, just a white shirt and black pants. His shirt was opened about three buttons. He worked in Discovery and knew Dad. Dad stopped to talked to him and introduced us. His name was "Coughdrop" Smith. I couldn't believe he was walking around dressed like that. I thought he must be crazy!

journey.png
Flight Path

On November 22, 1957 we boarded an Otter owned by Wardair and headed for our final destination, Discovery Mine, NWT.

Otter.png
Wardair Otter

Discovery is situated about 80 km northeast of Yellowknife. The flight takes about 20 minutes.

We landed in the afternoon about 3pm and it was cold and a little windy. The sun was already low in the sky.

Discovery had a population about 150 people, mostly miners. There were about 20 or so families and about 12 or so kids at the time. The kids all came out to see us as they knew there were new kids coming to the mine.
My first impression was that they must be Eskimos!

And so my journey ended in this desolate place called Discovery! It was the beginning of my adventure in a new land.

Discovery was a "hard rock" gold mine....but that is another story to come soon!

I hoped you liked this small slice of history!

DiscoveryMine.jpg
Discovery campsite.

steemit05b.png

Who is this man and what is his name?

descartes.png

Sort:  

Love your story 👍

Thanks, my friend!

Sometimes life is as interesting as fiction.

Hi @acwood. Thank you for sharing your life journey. An absolutely beautiful yet heart breaking story. I will wait patiently for the continuation.

Thanks. I didn't mean it to be heartbreaking. I have always looked at it as an adventure. All life has some sadness I suppose.
I am just finishing the second part and it is more about mining and a bit of history about where I grew up.
Glad you liked it!

enjoyed! onto the next one...

Thanks! Glad you liked it!

Hi @acwood, thank you for the @booster upvote , I hope you like my token of appreciation.

You are welcome my friend!
I do appreciate it very much!
You know it wasn't necessary. You should be building up your wallet.
But, I really do appreciate it very very much.
Thanks!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 9.53 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @acwood.

Thanks Belly Rubber!

Hi @acwood my good friend. Your dad was a truly a pioneer and a man with foresight. Not many individuals will leave the safety of their home to go out into the unknown world to make a better life for their family. A true Man!
PS: I love all the aspects of the individual you have a pic of, he is a philosopher, mathematician, and scientist.

Thanks, my friend! It was quite the journey and I suppose it has shaped who I have become.
Because we had so many nationalities working at the mine I have come to accept all people, no matter their race creed or color.
Haha! I know you know who this is and you are right. Can you give me a name? (just to keep it all honest!)

One day I will stump you!!!

I am always taken aback by your personality and your open minded way of thinking towards other individuals no matter their race, culture, creed or color. Finally the root of that mentality has been exposed. And what an amazing story behind it.
Lol...... Mr René Descartes.

Thanks, my friend, for your kind words!

Haha! You got it my friend!
1 SBD heading to your wallet!

Lol, I honestly don't know what to say, and you know me well enough to know I am hardly speechless. But it seems that you have a way of doing that quite often to me. My wife would be really happy if she had that ability:) I am truly grateful my dear friend for the generosity once again.

It is always a pleasure, my friend! Somewhere it is written, "Tis better to give than receive" maybe the bible?

The gift that I give is the gift that I receive! Yes, they are my words.

This post has received a 1.54 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @acwood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68