Let's explore and discover!steemCreated with Sketch.

I hope to convince you that exploration should be a fundamental part of everybody’s life. While the idea of backpacking across Asia might be the first thing that comes to mind, I want to begin by saying that it shouldn’t be. My student budget and time restrictions have contributed to the broadening of my interpretation of ‘exploration’. Distance is no longer an essential element, but I rather deem an activity as explorative if it brings with it a new mindset, perspective or a greater understanding of myself and our world.

I have come to think that intrapersonal reflection is not only the most basic form of exploration, but a prerequisite for understanding our positions within the workings of the world. It is exclusively through the enriching and often tedious task of self-reflection that we are able to envisage our influence on society as well as have an element of control over how we are to react to all that the world hands us. Having said this, the causality between an intrapersonal and a more conventional sense of exploration can also be inverted.

The change in my environment, which came with the completion of school and beginning of university sparked multiple intrapersonal realisations. I can now laugh at the fact that they generally came at the most inconvenient times. However, I can tell you that I have a tendency to procrastinate, I struggle to find the work-hard-play-hard balance, I am a true Pisces and although I have only recently come to terms with it, social anxiety can sometimes be a problem. So, while my course has given me valuable knowledge about my exterior world, university life has granted me numerous opportunities to realise and reinforce my identity, leading to increased confidence and personal direction.

Therefore, I cannot say that I believe in intrapersonal exploration being entirely voluntary. Much of what I have come to learn about myself has happened through changing circumstances, which is why I am confident in saying that intrapersonal realisations not only facilitate external exploration, but are often caused by it. However, I will always recommend that a conscious effort is made to constantly grow more aware, whether this is through intrapersonal exploration or in a more traditional sense of exploration and discovery.

Realising the extensive role that my decisions can play in all forms of exploration has inspired me to always take small steps to expand my comfort zone. Not only have I found an increased understanding and acceptance of myself and the world, but I have found further reason to experience happiness, total excitement and unbound awe when attempting to comprehend all that the world is.

So, this is our world. Without making every effort to take part in it, we cannot know it and without this knowing, we cannot comprehend worthwhile strategies aimed at valuable change. But first, these are our lives. All that allows us to live in wellness can be found within ourselves. It’s what we choose to grow towards and incorporate into our lives that determines the kind of days in which we live. For this reason, whether this is our only chance or not, I do my best to only accept what’s worthwhile into my mind, my world and my life.

pexels-photo-287240.jpeg

Sort:  

wow its very danger

Nice post
upvote and comment back

I'm glad you stopped by :)

Congratulations @abigailsamuelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful writing. I'm socially awkward. Makes one think? ;)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this and maybe found it valuable :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89